Scholarly Journal Publishing

The Alberta Journal of Educational Research (AJER) is a scholarly quarterly journal, published in Canada, that is devoted to the dissemination, interpretation, critique, and support of all forms of scholarly inquiry into education, broadly construed, and the fields associated with education both locally and globally.

Arctic is North America's premier journal of northern research! Now in its seventh decade of continuous publishing, Arctic contains contributions from any area of scholarship dealing with the polar and subpolar regions of the world. Articles in Arctic present original research and have withstood intensive peer review. Arctic also publishes reviews of new books on the North, profiles of significant people, places and northern events, and topical commentaries.

A quarterly journal founded at the University of Calgary in 1970 and published by Johns Hopkins University Press. With readers and subscribers in more than fifty countries, ARIEL focuses on the critical and scholarly study of literatures in English around the world. The journal publishes original articles in postcolonial studies exploring colonial power and resistance as well as innovative scholarship on globalization, new forms and sites of exploitation, colonization, and decolonization in an age of transnational capitalism, displacement and diaspora studies, global ecocriticism, cultural and cross-cultural translation, and related areas. The journal especially encourages articles that do not just offer a close reading of a text or set of texts but that use that close reading to intervene in an existing scholarly conversation.

The Canadian Journal of Counselling and Psychotherapy (CJCP) is the official journal of the Canadian Counselling and Psychotherapy Association. Articles are published that are of interest to counsellor educators as well as to practitioners working in schools, community agencies, university and college counselling centres, and other institutions in which psychological counselling is practiced. We welcome articles addressing: research reports of studies which have relevance to counselling practitioners; descriptions of new techniques or innovative programs and practices; discussions of current scientific issues; commentaries on current professional issues and on the role of CCPA in our society; critical summaries of published research and/or current issues of practice; and studies that increase our understanding of individuals, groups, and Canadian society to help illuminate their counselling needs.

The Canadian Journal for Educational Administration and Policy (CJEAP) was founded in 1995 at the University of Manitoba and merged with the Journal of Educational Administration and Foundations in 2016. The Canadian Journal for Educational Administration and Policy (CJEAP) is devoted to scholarly and critical works in the field of educational administration. The journal is currently hosted in the Department of Educational Administration at the University of Saskatchewan. It is the official journal of the Canadian Association for the Study of Educational Administration (CASEA).

First published in 2010, the Journal examines prominent issues relating to the formation, education, and training of health care professionals before and after licensure in Canada and internationally. The target audience includes clinician teachers, medical education researchers, practitioners and professionals, administrators, decision-makers, medical schools, universities and their trainees.

One objective of this online, open source journal is to provide Canadian practitioners working in the area of academic integrity with a venue to share experiences and insights about their work. A second (though no less important) goal of this journal is to elevate awareness and mobilize knowledge about issues relating to academic integrity in Canada.

A refereed e-journal dedicated to publishing significant results in a number of areas of pure and applied mathematics. Based at the University of Calgary, Canada, CDM is free for both readers and authors, edited and published online and will be mirrored at the European Mathematical Information Service and the National Library of Canada.

An international peer-reviewed open-access academic electronic journal that provides a forum for publication and discussion of original research on the socio-historical contexts of ideas and ideologies and their relationships to community and state formation, physical environments, human and institutional agency, personal and collective identity, and lived experience.

Manuscripts are invited that focus on the application of hermeneutics as guiding research inquiry into topics and issues connected to professional practice disciplines. Accounts of research, theoretical, philosophical, and conceptual discussions of practice related topics are encouraged.

The Journal of Critical Public Health (JCPH) is an international peer reviewed journal publishing critically engaged research in public health, health promotion, political economy of health, and related fields. The word 'critical' in our title refers to the perspective taken and the analysis, more so than the urgency of the topic.

JCPH provides a dedicated forum for rigorous analyses of theory and practice that explore new ways of thinking about public health, that often go against the grain of mainstream thought. The journal brings together international scholarship from social scientists and health researchers. It is published on behalf of the international Critical Public Health Network.

The Journal of Educational Thought promotes speculative, critical, and historical research concerning the theory and practice of education in a variety of areas including administration, comparative education, curriculum, educational communication, evaluation, instructional methodology, intercultural education, philosophy, psychology, and sociology.

The Journal of Indigenous Social Development (JISD) is committed to advancing education, practice, research and policymaking relevant to indigenous peoples’ social and economic wellbeing. JISD is a peer-reviewed journal published exclusively in open-access electronic form. The Journal provides a forum for scholars and practitioners from diverse disciplines to expand knowledge and develop dialogue relevant to indigenous communities globally. Intended to reflect diverse communities and perspectives, the editorial board, special issues editors, and reviewers include: Elders and leaders of indigenous communities, community-based practitioners, policymakers, university educators and researchers.

The Journal of Military and Strategic Studies is an open access and double-blind peer-reviewed publication that aims to disseminate original scholarship in strategic and military studies to an academic audience, and also a public one, both nationally and internationally, and to provide a forum for the discussion of issues related to Canadian security, broadly defined. It approaches these topics from an academic position, open to all sectors of opinion, rather than one of advocacy. It includes editorials, independent and critical, on matters of current affairs, but its editorial stance is distinct from its academic one.

Opuscula: Short Texts of the Middle Ages and Renaissance is a peer-reviewed, on-line journal/text series published by Classical, Medieval and Renaissance Studies at the University of Saskatchewan, specializing in short texts of the Middle Ages and Renaissance. We seek single-witness editions of a broad range of pre-modern texts including but not limited to literary and philosophical works, letters, charters, court documents, and notebooks.

Papers on Postsecondary Learning and Teaching (PPLT) is a peer-reviewed and open access publication, which publishes articles developed from presentations at the University of Calgary Conference on Postsecondary Learning and Teaching. All articles are subject to a double-blind peer-review process.

School of Public Policy Publications (SPPP) offers timely research and discussion of Canadian public policy issues. It provides a forum for the exchange of ideas and perspectives among academics, members of the private sector, public servants and engaged community members. SPPP publishes works that are topical, have a clear message and can be read and appreciated by a broad audience.

Teaching and Learning Inquiry publishes scholarly works on the scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL) in higher education. This includes original research, theory, or commentary and may include empirical and interpretive investigations, theoretical analyses, thought-provoking essays, works about the state of the field, or innovative genres.

Transformative Social Work is a scholarly refereed open access journal designed to exchange knowledge and promote transformation in the field of social work. The journal aims to advance theoretical understanding, share policy, and inform practice, and welcomes submissions from all areas of social work. Collaborations with other disciplines on social work-related issues are welcome.

The journal reports on transformative research, discussing practice, and examining principles and theories, and will be read by social work educators, researchers, practitioners, and students who wish to keep informed with innovations and developments in the field. Published twice per year, the journal can be accessed online for free.

An open access, non-masked, peer-reviewed journal published by graduate students for the dissemination of works by graduate students at Canadian universities. We are bilingual in keeping with Canada’s two official languages, and we honour multiple cultures. We believe in providing a space for students’ voices through scholarly writing and networking.

An international, peer-reviewed, open access journal for graduate students in education and educational psychology (e.g., school psychology, counselling psychology), developed by graduate students at the Werklund School of Education, University of Calgary. Emerging Perspectives profiles original research, authentic ideas, and innovative practice from graduate students in both research and professional arenas.

The International Journal of Nursing Student Scholarship (IJNSS) was created to afford an opportunity for undergraduate and graduate nursing students to publish their scholarly papers that have been done as course assignments. In addition, a few submissions will be accepted from students in related health disciplines. In this way, it expected that the students will become more familiar with ways of articulating key concepts pertaining to a particular theoretical/philosophical approach and/or to various types of research approaches.

The Journal of Undergraduate Research in Alberta (JURA) is a peer-reviewed bi-annual journal, based out of University of Calgary. JURA publishes original research articles, case studies, methods and extended abstracts of undergraduate researchers.

The Motley Undergraduate Journal aims to feature student work that displays excellence in written communication, research, analysis or creative production from any course under the Department of Communications, Media, and Film Studies at the University of Calgary. The Motley Undergraduate Journal is devoted to reflecting the diversity of communication and multimedia studies and will represent a breadth of student work on various topics. We are looking for clarity, effective writing, original research, and insightful analysis. The Motley Undergraduate Journal is produced in partnership between undergraduate students and the Department of Communication, Media and Film at the University of Calgary.

The 49th Parallel Ejournal is published annually by the 49th Parallel Schools of Architecture Consortium, on the subjects of architectural education, design, theory, and practice.

The papers and presentations in this volume were part of an international conference on Latin American and Caribbean basin security
issues hosted by the Latin American Research Centre at the University of Calgary in May, 2013. Focusing on Canadian security policies in the region, the conference went beyond traditional notions of security and focused on a range of human security issues.

The Canadian Journal of Transportation is a web-based journal devoted to a Canadian perspective on the broad field of transportation. As an interdisciplinary field, the interests of the journal include research in economics, engineering, planning and logistics.

Scholarship in the Human Services

An open-access peer-reviewed publication forum for research in education for and by scholars throughout the world including new scholars from the University of Saskatchewan. As such, its primary objective is to foster connections among researchers to build a coherent knowledge base in education across geographic and intellectual borders while at the same time conveying a sense of local place related to the Canadian and Saskatchewan context. Contributions from graduate students are particularly encouraged.

Functional Diversity is a forum for the publication of research in functional biodiversity, sparking awareness of the "economics of biology" in the face diminishing biodiversity resources. Manuscripts relating to the biodiversity of all taxa, in any biome and geographic area will be considered. While based in the University of Calgary Herbarium, the journal publishes papers that contribute to new developments in how biodiversity relates to ecosystem function and ecosystem services in terms of food security, human health, and ecosystem stability, and not just plant biology.

The Journal of Mind-Body Regulation (MBR) publishes interdisciplinary scientific articles spanning psychology, neuroscience, psychiatry, behavioral biology, cognitive science, therapeutics, and philosophy. We rigorously referee each submission and, if accepted, may disseminate it to a number of potential commentators. Depending on the topic, we may then co-publish these peer commentaries alongside the target article with or without the author's rebuttal. Peer commentaries include analyses, elaborations, complementary and supplementary data and theory, criticisms, and cross-specialty syntheses.