BUSN - Citing Business Sources

Journal, trade and magazine articles – Print

For further information: (APA, 2020, p. 316-321)

Journal article, print

Patelli, L., & Pedrini, M. (2015). Is tone at the top associated with financial reporting aggressiveness?

Journal of Business Ethics, 126(1), 3-19.

In-text citation: (Patelli & Pedrini, 2015)

Article in trade publication

Trebilcock, B. (2014, December). What’s your supply chain priority? Supply Chain Management Review,

18(7), 6-9.

In-text citation: (Trebilcock, 2014)

Magazine article, print

Brown, M. (2015, January). Know why you’re spinning off a business. Canadian Business, 88(1), 35.

In-text citation: (Brown, 2015)

For magazines, newsletters, and newspapers give the year and exact date of the publication (month or month and day). If the date is given as a season, give the year and the season (APA, 2020b, p. 289).

 

Journal, trade, and magazine articles - Electronic

Journal article, open access

Smith, R. M., Sardeshmukh, S. R., & Syed, I. (2019, October 29). Building self-efficacy for entrepreneurial

careers: New resource skill. Journal of Small Business Strategy, 29(3), 1-15.

https://libjournals.mtsu.edu/index.php/jsbs/article/view/1267/1130

In-text citation: (Smith et al., 2019)

Journal article, retrieved from a database, with a DOI

(Databases may include: ABI Inform Complete, Business Source Complete, Environment Complete, EconLit, ScienceDirect, JSTOR, CBCA Complete, etc.)

Dunes, M., & Pras, B. (2013). Practices in the brand management system: Identification and

considerations for five business sectors. The Journal of Product and Brand Management, 22(7),

444-461. https://doi.org/10.1108/JPBM-09-2013-0396

In-text citation: (Dunes & Pras, 2013)

For further information: (APA, 2020, p. 299, 9.35)

Journal article, retrieved from a database, without a DOI

(Databases may include: ABI Inform Complete, Business Source Complete, Environment Complete, EconLit, ScienceDirect, JSTOR, CBCA Complete, etc.)

Hollier, G., Blankenship, D., & Jones, I. (2013). College business students’ attitudes towards ethics.

Journal of Business & Behavioral Sciences, 25(1), 54-68.

In-text citation: (Hollier et al., 2013)

“For works without DOIs from most academic research databases, do not include a URL or database information in the reference” (APA, 2020b, p. 299).

Trade publication, retrieved from a database

Hyter, M. C., & Tapia, A. (2015). Can you teach emotional intelligence? Chief Learning Officer,

14(1), 34-37.

In-text citation: (Hyter & Tapia, 2015)

“For works without DOIs from most academic research databases, do not include a URL or database information in the reference” (APA, 2020b, p. 299).

Magazine article, retrieved from a database

Keene, D. (2013, June). Where now for wireless? In a growing market, ample room for new solutions.

Digital Signage Magazine, 8(3), 18-21.

In-text citation: (Keene, 2013)

“For works without DOIs from most academic research databases, do not include a URL or database information in the reference” (APA, 2020b, p. 299).

Magazine article, online, open access

Brown, J. (2019, April 9). A star is reborn: Alberta’s super channel keeps punching through its rocky

comeback. Alberta Venture. https://www.albertaventure.com/a-star-is-reborn-albertas-super-

channel-keeps-punching-through-its-rocky-comeback/2/2824

In-text citation: (Brown, 2019)

“For works without DOIs from websites (not including databases), provide a URL in the reference” (APA, 2020b, p. 299).

Blog Posts

Nowak, P. (2015, January 7). Why the Apple watch will fail: Even a niche success is a failure for a

company like Apple. Canadian Business. https://www.canadianbusiness.com/blogs-and-

comment/why-the-apple-watch-will-fail/

In-text citation: (Nowak, 2015)

For further information: (APA, 2020, p. 320, #17)

______________________________________

Freakonomics. (2014, March 6). The relationship between hearing and memory. Freakonomics.

http://freakonomics.com/2014/03/06/the-relationship-between-hearing-and-memory/

In-text citation: (Freakonomics, 2014)

For further information: (APA, 2020, p. 320, #17)

News items

Newspaper article, print

Tait, C. (2015, January 9). Oil prices fall below several producers’ supply costs. Globe and Mail, A7.

In-text citation: (Tait, 2015)

For further information: (APA, 2020, p. 320, #16)

Newspaper article, retrieved from newspaper’s website

Kemp, J. (2015, January 9). What went wrong with the great commodity boom? Financial Post.

https://business.financialpost.com/investing/what-went-wrong-with-the-great-commodity-

boom

In-text citation: (Kemp, 2015)

For further information: (APA, 2020, p. 320, #16)

Newspaper article, retrieved electronically through a database

Kaskey, J., & Donville, C. (2014, October 18). Fertilizer giants call off merger; were an obstacle, analyst

says. Calgary Herald, C7.

In-text citation: (Kaskey & Donville, 2014)

For further information: (APA, 2020, p. 317, #3)

Letter to the editor (newspaper)

Moore, J. (2015, January 2). Oil prices need intervention [Editorial]. Globe and Mail.

In-text citation: (Moore, 2015)

Online Press Release/Media Release

MIT Sloan School of Management. (2017, April 13). Statistical approach to clinical trials may accelerate

cancer drug development process [Press release]. https://www.prnewswire.com/news-

releases/statistical-approach-to-clinical-trials-may-accelerate-cancer-drug-development-

process-300439010.html

In-text citation: (MIT Sloan School of Management, 2017)

For further information: (APA, 2020, p. 331, #59)

“When you find press releases on an organization’s own website without a specific author …, you can assume the organization to be the author. … Press releases may also be indexed on commercial distribution services, such as PRNewswire. However, PR Newswire is not the author of the release; it is the publisher—the author is actually indicated at the bottom of the release” (Lee, 2010, para. 2-3).