Comics, Cartoons, and Sequential Art
Rare Books and Special Collections Librarian
Annie Murray
she/her/hers
Contact:
Taylor Family Digital Library
410 University Court NW
Calgary, AB
T2N 1N4
410 University Court NW
Calgary, AB
T2N 1N4
403-210-9521
Comics, Cartoons, and Sequential Art
Special Collections acquires comic books, cartoons, graphic novels and sequential art. Holdings range from the canonical superhero comics published by major U.S. comic book publishers to smaller, independent publishers.
Special Collections has recently been acquiring entire collections of comic books. This collecting area began with the George Morley Comics Collection. In 2017, UCalgary Professor Bart Beaty, a renowned comics scholar, donated a portion of his own comic book collection. Subsequent donations from community members have added to this growing area of speciality.
Highlighted Collections
- George Morley Comics CollectionGeorge James Morley (1927-2004) was a founding member of the Canadian Aviation Historical Society with a very strong interest in Canadian war history serving as the first editor of the Canadian Aviation Historical Society Journal. A devoted cultural volunteer, Mr. Morley was a past president of NWMP Commemorative Association and playwright/director of Red Coat Puppet Theatre. He is best known for his passion for comic art. He was a founder and publisher of Strip Scene, a fanzine for Canadian comic strip collectors. Morley himself was an avid amateur comic artist but his true interest lay in researching comic art. He developed a personal collection of clippings, comic books, reference books and materials about comics, newspaper sheets and original artwork. The Collection was donated to Libraries and Cultural Resources early in 2005.
Find more
Comics, Cartoons, and Sequential Art Images
