Canadian Music
Canadian Music in Photos
"Jascha Galperin and orchestra, Lake Louise, Alberta.", 1936, (CU1129901) by Unknown. Courtesy of Glenbow Library and Archives Collection, Libraries and Cultural Resources Digital Collections, University of Calgary.
"Blood brass band at Calgary Exhibition and Stampede, Calgary, Alberta.", 1925-07, (CU141765) by Kilroe, William G. B.. Courtesy of Glenbow Library and Archives Collection, Libraries and Cultural Resources Digital Collections, University of Calgary.
"Calgary Symphony orchestra, Calgary, Alberta.", 1913, (CU190289) by Unknown. Courtesy of Glenbow Library and Archives Collection, Libraries and Cultural Resources Digital Collections, University of Calgary.
"Band on theatre stage, Calgary, Alberta.", [ca. 1920-1939], (CU1169760) by Oliver, W. J.. Courtesy of Glenbow Library and Archives Collection, Libraries and Cultural Resources Digital Collections, University of Calgary.
"Oil worker playing guitar outside bunkhouse, Turner Valley, Alberta.", [ca. 1938], (CU1126280) by Unknown. Courtesy of Glenbow Library and Archives Collection, Libraries and Cultural Resources Digital Collections, University of Calgary.
"Going to Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra practice, Calgary, Alberta.", 1957-01, (CU1141389) by De Lorme, Jack. Courtesy of Glenbow Library and Archives Collection, Libraries and Cultural Resources Digital Collections, University of Calgary.
"Local orchestra, Ashcroft, British Columbia.", [ca. 1904-1905], (CU195627) by Unknown. Courtesy of Glenbow Library and Archives Collection, Libraries and Cultural Resources Digital Collections, University of Calgary.
"Polish-Czech band in Kuroki, Saskatchewan.", 1940, (CU188164) by Unknown. Courtesy of Glenbow Library and Archives Collection, Libraries and Cultural Resources Digital Collections, University of Calgary.
"Peretz school orchestra, Calgary, Alberta.", 1929, (CU192142) by Unknown. Courtesy of Glenbow Library and Archives Collection, Libraries and Cultural Resources Digital Collections, University of Calgary.
"Wilf Carter serenading Hammond sisters near Lake Magog and Mount Assiniboine, British Columbia.", [ca. 1930-1933], (CU1134583) by Unknown. Courtesy of Glenbow Library and Archives Collection, Libraries and Cultural Resources Digital Collections, Universi
Guide Context
As in all research, when interacting with materials pertaining to Canadian music it is important to be aware of the subjectivity and bias present. Formal writing on music has historically favoured music of Western Classical traditions tied to European composition and pedagogical legacies. This has resulted in a plethora of English-language resources connected to printed music and European systems of music theory, fewer resources dedicated to oral traditions and diverse approaches to sound and composition. The resources presented here reflect this imbalance, but attempt to include pathways beyond the mainstream of music academia. For general music resources, see the Music subject guide, many of which will also be of use for Canadian music research.
General Library Search Tips
To browse books about Canadian music, look for call numbers starting with ML (literature on music) and MT (music instruction and study) with the following suggested numbers as a place to start. Materials kept at TFDL are located on the fifth floor and reference books (available for in-library use only) are located on the third floor.
|
ML5 |
Periodicals |
To browse scores, use the call number starting with M, which are located on the third floor of the TFDL:
|
M6 - M1494 |
Instrumental |
If you can't find the book you are looking for please check the collection of other institutions around Canada on WorldCat.org. UCalgary Library provides an InterLibrary Loan Service for faculty, students and staff. It is free and usually takes not longer then a couple of days until the pdf-document or book arrives.