Canadian Music

Online journal published by the Canadian Electroacoustic Community since 1998, with the complete archive available. Writing, reviews, sound clips.

A digitally published bilingual (French and English) journal for refereed scholarly research in music. Published semi-annually with open access, Intersections aims to represent the diversity of current fields of research in music, most broadly defined, and welcomes submissions informed by all music-related disciplines, as well as multi- and interdisciplinary scholarship. Intersections is dedicated especially to promoting and disseminating Canadian scholarship and Canadian perspectives within both the national and global contexts. Published as Canadian university music review = Revue de musique des universités canadiennes from 1980-2004.

CAML Review is the official publication of the Canadian Association of Music Libraries, Archives, and Documentation Centres. An open-access publication that appears twice a year (June 1 and December 1), CAML Review includes peer-reviewed research articles, along with reports, news, essays, and reviews, with particular focus on music in Canada, music librarianship and archival management, and bibliography. Previously published as CAML Newsletter until 2000.

For over 35 years Musicworks magazine has been dedicated to the development of new and passionate audiences for experimental music. Promoting both emerging and established experimental musicians, Musicworks features composers, improvisers, instrument designers, and artists who work in genres such as radio, electroacoustics, concert music, sound installation, and sound sculpture. This tri-annual magazine, along with its curated CDs, dynamic website and outreach programs creates an inclusive community within which to exchange and develop ideas, and tantalize curious listeners with adventurous music

La Scena Musicale Online is one of the internet’s leading classical music content providers. It contains original content (interviews, articles, reviews), the Canadian Classical Music Calendar, ClassicalMusicNews.org (links to classical music news articles around the world), LSM Newswire (press releases on classical music from around the world) and the Classical Music Webcast Scheduler (searchable database). La Scena Musicale Online was one of the first classical music websites to offer the entire contents of its print magazine free in both HTML and Adobe Acrobat PDF formats.

Coda was a Toronto-based Jazz magazine, published from 1958-2009. With a variety of subtitles (The Canadian Jazz Magazine, Canada's Jazz Magazine, The Journal of Jazz and Improvised Music) and frequencies (monthly, bi-monthly), the publication featured interviews, record and concert reviews, news columns. Writers represented a cross-Canada view, from Montreal to Vancouver, and had reach beyond national borders, regularly nominated in the American Jazz Journalist Association's annual poll for best periodical covering jazz.

Formerly known as the Canadian Journal for Traditional Music / La Revue de musique folklorique canadienne, (1996-2009) and the Canadian Folk Music Journal (1988-1996), MUSICultures is the journal of the Canadian Society for Traditional Music. The journal's website holds pdf copies of issues from 1978 up to the current issue. To access physical copies of issues before 2006 in UCalgary's collection, search for "Canadian journal for traditional music"

The Canadian Music Educator (CME) is the official quarterly journal of the Canadian Music Educators’ Association. CME publishes a wide range of articles pertaining to music education in Canada and across the globe. Topics pertain directly to music teachers in schools, communities, and postsecondary institutions, as well as music education researchers, including promising practices, research and research-to-practice reports, advocacy, contemporary and community approaches, and commentaries. Updates from Canadian provincial and territorial music educators associations are also regularly included. A combination of peer-reviewed (generally research based) and non-peer-reviewed (generally practice-based) articles are published in all editions.

Opera Canada magazine has been connecting the vibrant world of opera in Canada since 1960 with high quality professional arts journalism, in-depth interviews with its creators, artists and decision-makers as well as beautifully-illustrated features and reviews about productions from across the nation and internationally. The print magazine is published quarterly, and information is shared regularly via website, social media, and the podcast Opera Glasses.