Physician Assistant Program
Welcome! × This guide has been developed to provide library and information resources to support teaching, learning and research in the Physician Assistant Program in the Cumming School of Medicine at the University of Calgary.
Welcome!
This guide has been developed to provide library and information resources to support teaching, learning and research in the Physician Assistant Program in the Cumming School of Medicine at the University of Calgary.
For more clinical information check out our other guides below:
Welcome - Applied Evidence Based Medicine - Library at University of Calgary (ucalgary.ca)
Home - EBP - Nursing - Library at University of Calgary (ucalgary.ca)
Popular Textbooks and Handbooks
Ballweg's Physician Assistant: a Guide to Clinical Practice by
Designed as a highly visual and practical resource to be used across the spectrum of lifelong learning, Ballweg's Physician Assistant, 7th Edition, helps you master all the core competencies needed for physician assistant certification, recertification, and clinical practice. It remains the only textbook that covers all aspects of the physician assistant profession, the PA curriculum, and the PA's role in clinical practice. Ideal for both students and practicing PAs, it features a succinct, bulleted writing style, convenient tables, practical case studies, and clinical application questions that enable you to master key concepts and clinical applications. Addresses all six physician assistant competencies, as well as providing guidance for the newly graduated PA entering practice. Includes five new chapters: What Is a Physician Assistant, and How Did We Get Here?, Effective Use of Technology for Patient-Centered Care, Success in the Clinical Year, Transitioning to Practice and Working in Teams, and Finding Your Niche. Features an enhanced focus on content unique to the PA profession that is not readily found in other resources, more illustrations for today's visually oriented learners, a more consistent format throughout, and a new emphasis on the appropriate use of social media among healthcare professionals. Provides updated content throughout to reflect the needs of the PA profession, including new content on self-care for the PA to help prevent burnout, suicide, and other hazards faced by healthcare professionals. Guides students in preparation for each core clinical rotation and common electives, as well as working with special patient populations such as patients experiencing homelessness and patients with disabilities. Includes quick-use resources, such as objectives and key points sections for each chapter, tip boxes with useful advice, abundant tables and images, and more than 130 updated case studies. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices, as well as exclusive eBook chapters: A Primer on Learning Objectives, A Primer on Item Writing, and A Primer on Team-Based Learning.
ISBN: 0323654169Publication Date: 2021-05-17
EKGs for the Nurse Practitioner and Physician Assistant by
Delivering succinct, clear explanations to help students easily grasp key concepts, this book provides a comprehensive, multifaceted approach to EKG interpretation for nurse practitioner and physician assistant students, as well as practicing clinicians who need a quick refresher. The second edition retains the book's systematic, physiologic approach that trains readers to follow the same steps in evaluating each EKG. It negates the need for rote memorization by facilitating a genuine understanding of EKG interpretation. Using the patient's presenting symptoms as a starting point, abundant clinical scenarios demonstrate real-life applications for interpreting EKG readings. With scores of figures and tables and more than 200 EKG tracings, this resource delivers everything physician assistants and nurse practitioners need to provide expert, quality care to their patients. New to the Second Edition: Nearly 50 new EKG tracings and accompanying case studies Basic review of clinical conditions related to common EKG abnormalities New end-of-chapter review questions to help students summarize their learning More complex clinical cases to further challenge the student and increase proficiency in EKG interpretation Additional diagnostic findings in atrial enlargement, bundle branch blocks, and ventricular hypertrophy Updated chapter contrasting premature ventricular contractions with premature atrial contractions PowerPoint supplement of case studies with EKGs and teaching points for instructors
ISBN: 0826168884Publication Date: 2017-03-01
Orthopaedics for Physician Assistants by
Written by PAs for PAs, Orthopaedics for Physician Assistants, 2nd Edition, is the first and only orthopaedics text specifically designed for physician assistant practitioners and students. This comprehensive yet portable guide helps you master the essential knowledge that directly affects your patient care. Coauthors and physician assistants Sara Rynders and Jennifer Hart clearly present everything you need to know to manage orthopaedic issues in either a general practice or orthopaedic practice setting. Provides precisely the diagnostic and procedural information physician assistants need, covering orthopaedic physical examination and history taking, imaging interpretation and diagnosis, and treatment strategies for orthopaedic problems. Features brief, bulleted text, consistent headings in each chapter, an easy-to-follow outline format, and clear diagrams and images throughout. Demonstrates how to perform 14 key joint injections with online videos of elbow joint injection, knee joint injection, medial epicondyle injection, subacromial injection, digital block, and more. NEW to the 2nd Edition: ICD-10 codes to facilitate accurate coding and billing "Clinical Alert" boxes that highlight key information Quick-reference guide inside the front cover listing content by disorder name Concise review of common Orthopedic PANCE/PANRE topics Streamlined surgery content that focuses on need-to-know material A clearer, more direct writing style and updated content throughout, reflecting the most current research evidence and national and international guidelines Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323709842Publication Date: 2021-12-27
Essential Clinical Procedures by
Provide safe and effective care to every patient with the fully revised 4th Edition of Essential Clinical Procedures. Written by experts in the field, this widely used reference shows you step by step how to perform more than 70 of the most common diagnostic and treatment-related procedures in today's primary care and specialist settings. You'll find clear, concise coverage of the skills you need to know, including new and advanced procedures and new procedure videos. Covers patient preparation, the proper use of instruments, and potential dangers and complications involved in common procedures, as well as nonprocedural issues such as informed consent, standard precautions, patient education, and procedure documentation. Includes new chapters on Point-of-Care Ultrasound and Ring Removal, as well as 34 new procedure videos. Features significantly revised content on cryosurgery . injection techniques . arterial puncture . shoulder/finger subluxations . sterile technique . outpatient coding . casting and splinting . blood cultures . standard precautions . and more. Contains more than 200 high-quality illustrations, including updated images of office pulmonary function testing and wound closure. Uses a consistently formatted presentation to help you find information quickly. Reflects the latest evidence-based protocols and national and international guidelines throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 0323624677Publication Date: 2020-03-06
Approach to Internal Medicine: a Resource Book for Clinical Practice by
Feedback from users suggest this resource book is more comprehensive and morepractical than many others in the market. One of its strengths isthat it was written by trainees in internal medicine who understand the need for rapid access to accurate and concise clinical information, with a practical approach to clinical problem solving."
ISBN: 1283086948Publication Date: 2011-05-18
Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination by
Learn how to conduct a patient-centered health history and physical examination! Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination: An Interprofessional Approach, 10th Edition takes a uniquely interprofessional collaborative approach to health assessment, with a strong emphasis on lifespan considerations and differential diagnosis of unexpected findings. Each core chapter is organized into four sections - Anatomy and Physiology, Review of Related History, Examination and Findings, and Abnormalities - with lifespan content integrated into each area. Written by a team of nurse practitioners and physicians, this one-of-a-kind textbook uses evidence-based guidelines to help you master hands-on exam techniques as well as communication skills that build rapport and trust with the patient. UNIQUE! Interprofessional collaborative approach is written by two advanced practice nurses and three physicians, providing balanced expertise in both pediatric and adult-geriatric health. UNIQUE! Integrated lifespan content provides separate sections in each chapter for Infants and Children, Adolescents, Pregnant Patients, and Older Adults. UNIQUE! Compassionate, patient-centered approach emphasizes developing good communication skills, use of effective hands-on examination techniques, and reliance on clinical reasoning and clinical decision-making skills. UNIQUE! Strong emphasis on social inclusiveness and patient-centeredness incorporates LGBTQ+ patients and providers, with special emphasis on cultural competency, history taking, and special considerations for examination of the breasts, female and male genitalia, reproductive health, thyroid, and the anus/rectum/prostate. UNIQUE! Cross-references to Dains' Advanced Health Assessment & Clinical Diagnosis in Primary Care help you take the next step in clinical reasoning and also develop diagnostic reasoning skills. Differential Diagnosis tables are provided throughout the text. Clinical Pearls offer insights and practical, real-world expertise. Evolve website includes assessment video clips, animations, review questions, performance checklists, and more. NEW! 60 new illustrations and new videos include 30 drawings and 30 photos in the textbook, along with 15 new health assessment videos (including The Head-to-Toe Exam and Navigating the EMR) provided free on the Evolve website with every new copy of the textbook. NEW! Updated content includes human trafficking screening, genetics and genomics, Healthy People 2030 guidelines, and a new mnemonics quick reference inside the back cover. NEW! Thoroughly revised The Patient Record chapter is refocused to reflect the EMR's benefits (such as order entry, clinical decision support, and linkages to lab results) and how to overcome challenges (such as poor patient experience and the need to be careful about what is written in the record). NEW! Updated LGBTQ+ considerations (e.g., health screening considerations) and cultural content throughout reflect a current understanding of and greater sensitivity to these often underserved patient populations. NEW Think About. boxes direct you to next steps when you see particular clusters of findings. NEW Unexpected Findings icon helps beginning practitioners differentiate common normal variations from abnormalities that might warrant follow-up.
ISBN: 9780323761833Publication Date: 2022-03-02
Clinical Examination by
Talley and O'Connor's Clinical Examination, 8th edition helps students to navigate from first impressions through to the end of consultation. The text provides a patient-centred, evidence-based approach, making it the definitive resource for anyone embarking upon a medical career. Volume 1: A systematic guide to physical diagnosis breaks down each body system into a logical framework focusing on the history, clinical examination and correlation between physical signs and disease for each system. Volume 2: A guide to specialty examinations focuses on medical specialties ranging from paediatric medicine to specific approaches to ears, eyes, nose and throat assessments. Full eBook on StudentConsult OSCE-based scenario videos to assist with examination preparation ECG case studies Imaging library (X-rays, MRIs and CT scans) 390 MCQs
ISBN: 9780729542593Publication Date: 2017-09-19
History and Clinical Examination at a Glance by
Every medical student must be able to take an accurate history and perform a physical examination. This third edition of History and Clinical Examination at a Glance provides a concise, highly illustrated companion to help you develop these vital skills as you practice on the wards. Building on an overview of the patient/doctor relationship and basic enquiry, the text supports learning either by system or presentation of common conditions, with step-by-step and evidence-based information to support clinical examination and help you formulate a sound differential diagnosis. History and Clinical Examination at a Glance features: Succinct text and full colour illustrations, including many brand new clinical photographs A new section on the development of communication skills, which explains how to communicate in different circumstances, and with different groups of people A self-assessment framework which can be used individually, by tutors, or in group practice to prepare for OSCEs History and Clinical Examination at a Glance is the perfect guide for medical, health science students, and junior doctors, as an ideal resource for clinical attachments, last-minute revision, or whenever you need a refresher.
ISBN: 9780470654460Publication Date: 2012-01-30
