Interdisciplinary guide to key educational image resources
"Mineralization properties of ice," 2017, (CU123783) by Glenn Dolphin, is used under a CC BY 4.0 License. Courtesy of Libraries and Cultural Resources Digital Collections, University of Calgary. Modifications to this image include cropping.
Whether artworks, photographs, maps, charts, or visualizations, images or visual materials can serve as excellent scholarly sources in your research and learning, as well as compelling resources that enhance, clarify, or support arguments you make in your writing or presentations.
This guide will help you find images in library databases as well as on the web, and provide guidance on how to ethically use and cite images and other visual resources in your work.
Key Image Resources
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowARTstor is a digital library of over a million images with new image collections added several times a year and with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.ARTstor is a digital library of over a million images with new image collections added several times a year and with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, serving users both within the arts and in disciplines outside of the arts including historians of Art and Architecture and others engaged in the visual arts (Painting, Sculpture, Photography, Decorative arts, Design), as well as individuals in fields as diverse as American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Literary Studies, Medieval Studies, Music, Religious Studies, and Renaissance Studies.
- Users can register themselves to access further tools.
- Users may download a client for displaying images in presentations, but they can also capture them for use in powerpoints.
- Instructions for downloading images (PDF)
- Handouts and Subject Guides
- Colourbox This link opens in a new windowColourbox (education license), offers over 4 million images and videos that can be used for any non-commercial purpose.Colourbox (education license), offers over 4 million images and videos that can be used for any non-commercial purpose.
- University of Calgary Digital CollectionsDigitized materials from the University of Calgary's Archives and Special Collections, including the Glenbow Library and Archives.
- Wikimedia CommonsWikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language. It acts as a common repository for the various projects of the Wikimedia Foundation, but you do not need to belong to one of those projects to use media hosted here.
- Flickr Creative Commons SearchSearchable collection of image files within Flickr. Users will need to select from the Any license drop down menu.
- Last Updated: Feb 14, 2023 2:49 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/images
- Print Page
Subjects: Architecture & Landscape, Art & Art History, Images
Tags: digital_images, educational_media, slides