Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religious Studies

Guide to key sources for research in Religion

Find Books

 

The Library Search Box searches both the library collections as well as additional resources indexing books and journal articles held at the U of C or that the U of C is licensed to provide electronic access to.

Bibliographies - guides to books on your topic, not restricted to items in our collection.

Looking for material on Asian Religions?  We have thousands of books on Asia in a microfilm collection  Western Books on Asia: Japan  -   Index to this collection

Finding Articles

 ATLA Religion Database is the premier resource for locating articles in the field of religious studies

Other key indexes include:

​NOTE:  You can search for your topic across a number of  ProQuest databases by using the general ProQuest search box..  To search all EBSCO database, in the library advanced search, limit your search to EBSCO.

 

Cited By Searching

Google Scholar can also be helpful to locate journal articles,  BUT remember to use this link so that you access the full-text of all content that the University of Calgary subscribes to. 

  • Web of Science: Indexes more than 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Includes citation searching.


Specialized databases in the areas of Art, Psychology, Sociology, History etc. can be very important sources of articles relevant to Religious Studies. Consult Databases list for a guide to key databases in other disciplines as well as a complete listing of databases useful for Religious Studies.