About Scholarly Communication
Scholarly communication can be defined as the system through which research and other scholarly writings are created, evaluated for quality, disseminated to the scholarly community, and preserved for future use. This guide provides resources to help the University of Calgary research community navigate the scholarly communication ecosystem.
Play the scholarly publishing game! This interactive adventure takes you through a scenario explaining many of the choices authors need to consider when submitting a manuscript for publication.
Where to publish
There are many things to consider when choosing a venue to publish your work: you want to ensure a good fit, a broad reach, and significant impact. Publishing in Open Access journals can be an effective way to retain rights over your work, comply with funder mandates, and increase the impact of your scholarship. However, it is the responsibility of individual researchers to carefully evaluate the reputation of a journal and its publisher before submitting an article for publication, or agreeing to provide peer review services.
This page features tools and guides to help you evaluate issues such as fit, impact factor, and reputability of scholarly journals. Please also consult the predatory publishing page to ensure that you're submitting your work to a legitimate venue.
Tools for evaluating fit and impact
- BISONUses your paper's title, abstract, and references to suggest Open Access journals for publication. Potential journals are drawn from the Directory of Open Access Journals.
- Elsevier Journal FinderBased on keywords in your manuscript's title and abstract, this tool will suggest journals suitable for publishing your article. Limited to Elsevier journals only.
- IEEE publication recommenderEnter keywords, key phrases, or article title to help you find suitable journals or conferences to submit to in engineering, computing, and technology. Open Access filters are available.
- JANE: Journal/Author Name EstimatorInput your draft abstract, and JANE will suggest journals for you to publish in. You can limit by publication type or open access journals. Because this tool uses the MEDLINE database to generate its suggestions, it is not appropriate for content outside of the broad field of medicine. Please also note that PubMed can contain "predatory" journals, so these may appear in JANE's results.
- Journal GuideHelps authors evaluate journals in terms of scope, quality, and impact. Useful if you don't know where to submit your paper.
- Springer Journal SuggesterBased on the title/abstract of your paper, the tool will suggest Springer/BMC journals that might be suitable. Can narrow by a wide array of disciplines.
- Taylor and Francis Journal SuggesterAn AI-enabled tool that will provide suggestions of T&F journals based on your abstract. Helpful for humanities topics.
- Web of Science Match ManuscriptFind potential journals based on an analysis of millions of citation connections in the Web of Science Core Collection. More useful for STEM disciplines.
Tools for evaluating Open Access publications
- SHERPA/RoMEOA collaboratively produced database providing information on journal and publisher policies on copyright and author rights.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsDOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals. If the journal you are considering is not listed here, you may want to investigate further to ensure it is a quality publication.
- How Open Is It? [PDF File]Provides a useful grid to illustrate a continuum of "openness" of publications across a range of clearly defined components.
Publishing options for undergraduate students
Did you know that the University of Calgary publishes journals that specifically seek to feature undergraduate authors?
- Journal of Undergraduate Research in Alberta: publishing and promoting research articles written by undergraduate students with the undergraduate student as the primary author
American University's School of International Service keeps a list of a variety of publications that publish undergraduate research.
- Last Updated: Mar 22, 2023 8:22 AM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/scholarlycommunication
- Print Page