Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Science 311

Finding Facts

General Reference Sources | Biological Sciences | Chemistry | Computer Science | Engineering | Environmental Sciences | Geography | Geology & Geophysics | Mathematics & Statistics | Medicine | Physics & Astronomy

General Reference Sources
These are all available in the library. Click on the titles to see their call number and location.
Credo Literati (online) - a site with many general reference sources
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
Van Nostrand’s Scientific Encyclopedia

Top

Biological Sciences
Desk Encyclopedia of Microbiology 
Grzimek’s Animal Life Encyclopedia Online | In print
Henderson’s Dictionary of Biology
Encyclopedia of Human Biology
Encyclopedia of Microbiology
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences

Top 

Chemistry
Hawley’s Condensed Chemical Dictionary (online and physical book)
Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology Online | In print
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Online | In print
Merck Index Online | In print

Top

Computer Science
Computer science and engineering handbook
Dictionary of computing (online)
Encyclopedia of computer science and technology

Top

Engineering
Civil Engineer's Reference Book (online)
Dictionary of Energy (Expanded Edition) (online)
Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology
Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology Online | In print
Mechanical Engineer’s Reference Book (online and print)

Top

Environmental Sciences
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) reports
Encyclopedia of Environmental Change
Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment (online)
Encyclopedia of Soil Science
Water: Science and Issues

Top

Geography
A Dictionary of Geography (Oxford) (online and print)
Encyclopedia of Geography
Geo-data: the World Geographical Encyclopedia
The International Encyclopedia of Geography: People, the Earth, Environment, and Technology (online)

Top

Geology & Geophysics
Encyclopedia of Planetary Sciences
Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment (online)
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Weather

Top

Mathematics & Statistics
Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics
CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics
CRC Encyclopedia of Mathematics

Top

Medicine
DynaMed Plus
MedlinePlus
RxTx

Top

Physics & Astronomy
Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics
Dictionary of Geophysics, Astrophysics, and Astronomy

Top