Canadian Studies Library Resources
- Our Roots/ Nos Racines - now part of the Digital collections -Local histories of University of Calgary Check the collection to find Canadian local histories in French and English.
- Our Future Our Past - Now part of the Digital Collections Local histories at University of Calgary Predominantly Southern Alberta content regarding: Folklore, historical air photos and maps, educational modules, medical history, Stampede history, art, local histories by community, municipal bylaws
- Early Canadiana Online - (ECO) A full text online collection of more than 3,000 books and pamphlets documenting Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century.
- Peel's Prairie Provinces - From the earliest days of exploration in the prairies, this collection includes a vast range of material dealing with every aspect of the settlement and development of the Canadian West.
- Library and Archives Canada - Canada's national collection of books, historical documents, government records, photos, films, maps, music...and more.
- Archives Canada - Archives Canada is gateway to archival resources found in over 800 repositories across Canada.
- Canadian Encyclopedia - more than 35,000 in English and French on all aspects of Canadian history and culture.
- Canadiana online - Canadiana online is a full-text searchable database that includes books, journals and government publications documenting Canadian History. The e-book collection, spans three and a half centuries of Canadian documentary history, holds rich primary materials exploring a wide range of subjects and disciplines. Topics range from major historical events to the development of institutions, laws, and science; from Canadian literature to philosophical treatises; from agriculture to politics, trade, and tariffs. It includes ECO and Heritage.
Parliament of Canada
Parliamentary debates online
There are 2 places to look for this. One is for the historical debates up to the 1st session of the 35th Parliament (January 17, 1994 to February 2, 1996. This may be found at: http://parl.canadiana.ca/. The other, which carries the information forward to the present time is at: http://www.parl.gc.ca/Default.aspx?Language=E. In both cases, you need decide if you want the debates, journals or committees of the House of Commons or the Senate and you need to decide which session of Parliament you want to search. It's a bit awkward but eventually you get used to searching it.
For a full description of Canadian Parliamentary Publications please see GOVINFO: Canadian Parliamentary (Legislative) Publications
Canada Gazette: Our print holdings for Part I start in 1974 and Part II start in 1955, so we no longer have any access to the Canada Gazette, from 1893 to 1955 when our print holdings begin. Our print Part I is index only from 1955-1974 while Part II (Regulations) starts in 1955.
There is a print copy at the Alberta Law Libraries at the courthouse that can be used by anyone during their business hours (8:15am-4:00pm).
For an archived database of Canada Gazette browse the Canada Gazette archives..
For searchable database for Canada Gazette from 1998 onward you can browse the Canada Gazette webpage.
Federal, Provincial and Territorial Government Information
Federal Government Department and Agency Websites
Alberta Legislative Assembly
Legislation and Court Cases
Statistics from Statistics Canada and other Sources
Diaries, personal narratives, letters and private correspondence
Additional Library Information on Primary Resources
- Last Updated: Sep 23, 2022 2:49 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/canadianstudies
- Print Page