LAW Foreign Cases and Decisions

This guide is intended to help researchers locate the cases and decisions of foreign jurisdictions.

Accessing the law of Australia and New Zealand

Australia and New Zealand are common law jurisdictions. For Australian legal research, consider whether you are dealing with a Federal or state/territory law. The Federal system is called the Commonwealth.

Electronic Sources for Cases

Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII)
The website has primary materials and some law review articles
Law Cite
Indexed cases, law reform documents and journal articles included in the system supported by the Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII)
High Court of Australia
Law and Justice Foundation of New South Wales
Provides links to Commonwealth, State and Territory court and tribunal judgments, home pages and related material.
New Zealand Legal Information Institute (NZLII)
Free access to legal information in New Zealand.
NZ Directory of Decisions
University of Waikato Law Library

Lexis Advance Quicklaw This link opens in a new window
Lexis Advances Quicklaw provides access to an extensive database of over 2 million cases, jurisdictional sources, including exclusive sources like Halsbury's Laws of Canada and Canadian Tort Law. This database includes QuickCite, which ensures decisions are based on good authority by cases. Lexis Advance QuickLaw provides access to Canadian law (legislation, jurisprudence, and doctrine) as well as law sources from the United States, United Kingdom, France, Australia, New Zealand, and Hong Kong.

Quicklaw
(UofC Law School only.) Click on Source Directory and select country in drop down menu. Click on folder of type of legal material you are looking for.

Westlaw Edge (UofC Law School only) This link opens in a new window
Faculty of Law students and faculty may obtain an individual password.
Westlaw Edge is a full text and indexing database that provides access to a variety of law and finding tools. It includes Canadian statutes and regulations, reported decisions from Canadian courts and tribunals, Canadian law journals and law reviews. Westlaw includes nearly 15,000 databases covering most US primary and secondary legal materials and legal research tools. It also includes over 700 full text law reviews and has legal material from the UK, Australia and the EU.

Secondary Sources for Foreign Law

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of numerous legal journals and monographs, U.S. government documents, foreign and international law materials, legal classics, world trials and more.

The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals is available on HeinOnline. If a journal is there, it may be available in full text in another library database.

Accidental Tourist on the New Frontier by Jeanne Rehberg (Editor); Radu D. Popa (Editor); Victor Essien (Contribution by); Jolande E. Goldberg (Contribution by); Marion Russ (Contribution by); Marilyn J. Raisch (Contribution by); Thomas H. Reynolds (Contribution by); Mirela Roznovschi (Contributi
Call Number: K85 .A37 1998
ISBN: 0837710758
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Law Library
International and Foreign Legal Research by Marcy Hoffman; Mary Rumsey
Call Number: K85 .H64 2012
ISBN: 9789004204805
Publication Date: 2012-04-19
Law Library
Introduction to Foreign Legal Systems by Richard A. Danner (Editor); Marie L. Bernal (Editor); American Association of Law Libraries Staff
Call Number: K583 .I58 1994
ISBN: 0379213508
Publication Date: 1994-07-01
Law Library
Legal Traditions of the World by H. Patrick Glenn
Call Number: K559 .G545 2010
ISBN: 9780199580804
Publication Date: 2010-07-29
Law Library

Libraries & Cultural Resources

Research Guides

LAW Foreign Cases and Decisions

Accessing the law of Australia and New Zealand

Electronic Sources for Cases

Secondary Sources for Foreign Law