BUSN - Indigenous Economic Development

This guide will help you access resources related to Indigenous economic development in Canada. Please contact the Business Library if you need more help.

Journals

FWJ delivers to the reader Peer Reviewed Scholarly articles, current events analysis, new ideas and thorough scholarship that explains the "seen and unseen" world and current events. Authors address topics such as climate change and the environment, political change, history, economics, social change, healing arts and medicine, traditional knowledge systems and the creative arts.

For more periodicals with Aboriginal content, click here.

Many business databases include Aboriginal content. Try the following search terms in the databases below:

indigenous, native, aboriginal, "First Nation", specific aboriginal group such as Dene, "American Indian", Metis, Innuit, business, commerce, "economic development", "economic conditions", entrepreneurship, and entrepreneur.

ProQuest One Business (formerly ABI / Business Premium Collection) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business is an intuitive and comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. Designed to help business researchers balance theoretical and practical learning, and acquire research skills that will make them successful in their courses and careers. ProQuest One Business content includes: company, industry, and country reports from providers such as Fitch Solutions and Economist Intelligence Unit, and in-depth analyst reports from J.P. Morgan; scholarly journals and ebook coverage from hundreds of publishers; full text of the three major global business news sources: The Wall Street Journal, the Economist, and the Financial Times; and a robust collection of videos.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and a total of more than 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source® Complete contains far more active, peer-reviewed, business related journals than any other database currently available. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals.
- This product supersedes Business Search Premier.
Gale OneFile. CPI.Q (Canadian periodicals) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: CPI.Q, the award-winning electronic version of the Canadian Periodical Index, provides the most-requested Canadian reference information available. It includes more than 1,300 Canadian periodicals (more than 700 full text), a multilingual interface, indexing from 1980 forward, and full-text articles from 1983 forward. This vast collection is fully integrated, enabling users to search the entire database with a single query. It yields a variety of relevant periodical articles, biographies, company profiles, historical documents, science and technology essays, and much more. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
To set up Google Scholar to detect UofC subscribed resources, refer to Google Scholar setup (in the Natural Sciences Programme LibGuide)
A subset of Google that only indexes academic journals. Pros: searching is very easy - just like for regular Google. Covers journals in many disciplines. Cons: Limited functionality for filtering results. May include some journals of dubious quality.

Many business databases include Aboriginal content. Try the following search terms in the databases below:

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.
- Due to license restrictions, access is limited to 6 simultaneous users.
- Interface in English, German, French or Chinese; contents in 22 languages.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Canadian Newsstream provides users with unmatched access to current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s, from over 360 news sources.
- Coverage is selectively from 1985 to the present.
- Includes fulltext of articles.
Canadian business & current affairs database This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database combines full text and indexed content from all four subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Content comes from a broad range of Canadian sources and includes millions of full-text articles and records from 1933 to current, providing an ideal research environment for those interested in Canadian current events, business, science and technology, medical, humanities and the arts, and hundreds of topics.

Websites (Open Access)

Indian Country Today
Indian Country Today Media Network (ICTMN) is a website and weekly online newsletter that is a national news source for Native people in North America.

Indigenous Studies Databases

Indigenous Studies Databases
Use the drop-down arrow to find "Indigenous Studies" from the subject list. These databases are not "business" specific.

Last Updated: Aug 18, 2023 2:13 PM
URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/indigenous_economic_development
Print Page

Subjects: Business, Indigenous Studies

Tags: aboriginal_studies, business, entrepreneurship, first_nations, indigenous, indigenous_studies, native studies, subject_guide

Libraries & Cultural Resources

Research Guides

BUSN - Indigenous Economic Development

Journals

Databases

Indigenous Studies Databases