French Studies
This guide provides selected resources available to you through UCalgary Library and the Internet
About this Guide
The French collection at the University of Calgary supports the teaching and research needs of all students & faculty. The book collection is located on the fifth & sixth floor of the Taylor Family Digital Library.
Key Resources
- EruditÉrudit welcomes any Academic journal, regardless of its publisher and country of origin. It is also the site of dissemination of Quebec journals supported by the Fonds québécois de recherche sur la société et la culture (FQRSC).
- Grand Robert de la Langue Française (Le)The complete version of Le Grand Robert de la langue française in its latest edition: 86 000 articles, 100 000 words, 350 000 meanings, 410 000 use examples. All the conjugations of all the verbs, feminine and plural forms: 800 000 inflected forms, 325,000 quotations: a veritable anthology, 2 000 notes from Le Petit Robert regarding names of authors of quotations.
- MLA International BibliographyThe MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior AbstractsCovers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics, as well as various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
- French Centre ResourcesIncludes grammar interactive exercises and DELF/DALF practice exams and strategies.
Please also see http://ucalgary.ca/repsit/exercices-de-langue
Key Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Collins Robert French Unabridged Dictionary, 9th Edition by ISBN: 9780061962998With thousands of contemporary technical, political, and business terms, the Collins Robert French Unabridged Dictionary is a resource for students and scholars.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture by ISBN: 9780203003305An international team of scholars contribute over 700 entries on contemporary French culture that range from art, gender, politics and literature to media and the economy.
Encyclopedia of Modern French Thought by ISBN: 9780203483954In this guide to twentieth-century French thought, scholars offer an authoritative multi-disciplinary analysis of one of the most distinctive and influential traditions in modern thought.