French Studies
This guide provides selected resources available to you through UCalgary Library and the Internet
Example from the Bibliothèque nationale de France "Gallica" Digital Collection
Collections
- Gallica
Gallica is one of the major digital libraries available for free via the Internet. It provides access to any type of document: printed documents (books, press and magazines) in image and text mode, manuscripts, sound and iconographic documents, maps and plans. - Europeana
The material found on Europeana comes from galleries, libraries, archives and museums from all over Europe.
Other Specialized Collections
- French Revolution Digital ArchiveThe French Revolution Digital Archive (FRDA) is a multi-year collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) to produce a digital version of the key research sources of the French Revolution and make them available to the international scholarly community.
- Stereoviews of the French Second Empire, ca. 1855-1870Stereoscopy is a technique for creating the illusion of depth by presenting two images (usually photographs) to the eyes, each one taken from a slightly different perspective (often about the same distance apart as human eyes). The resulting images, when viewed through a stereoscope, appear three-dimensional.
- French Fashions, 1895-1915 (The Metropolitan Museum of Art)The collection contains French fashion photographs dated ca. 1895–1915, created by well-established photography studios, including Talbot, Reutlinger, Felix and Henri Manuel.