French Studies
This guide provides selected resources available to you through UCalgary Library and the Internet
Key Resource
- Grand Robert de la Langue Française (Le)The complete version of Le Grand Robert de la langue française in its latest edition: 86 000 articles, 100 000 words, 350 000 meanings, 410 000 use examples. All the conjugations of all the verbs, feminine and plural forms: 800 000 inflected forms, 325,000 quotations: a veritable anthology, 2 000 notes from Le Petit Robert regarding names of authors of quotations.
Online Resources
Pocket Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary by ISBN: 9780199576159Authoritative, this fourth edition of the Pocket Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 120,000 translations of contemporary French and English.
Collins French Dictionary and GrammarThis edition of Collins French Dictionary & Grammar has been revised and updated to offer extensive and relevant coverage of today's English and French, with thousands of phrases and examples.
Encyclopedia of Modern French Thought by ISBN: 9780203483954In this guide to twentieth-century French thought, scholars offer an authoritative multi-disciplinary analysis of one of the most distinctive and influential traditions in modern thought.
Business French DictionaryProvides a specialist business vocabulary for translators, business people, secretaries, and students. Comprehensive coverage of all aspects of business: insurance, stock exchange, accounting, finance, and computing.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture by ISBN: 9780203003305An international team of scholars contribute over 700 entries on contemporary French culture that range from art, gender, politics and literature to media and the economy.
On the shelves
- Langenscheidt's standard French dictionary : French-English, English-French byISBN: 0887290558Over 80,000 references on 1278 pages. A broad range of entries with many new words and a wealth of idiomatic expressions. Full pronunciation of French entries-Grammatical information on French nouns and verbs-Specialist vocabulary from many different fields.
- Collins Robert French Unabridged Dictionary, 9th Edition byISBN: 9780061962998With thousands of contemporary technical, political, and business terms, the Collins Robert French Unabridged Dictionary is a resource for students and scholars.
- The Encyclopedia of the French Revolutionary and Napoleonic Wars byISBN: 1851096469This three-volume work on the French Revolution and Napoleon's rule and campaigns covers a wide range of military, political, social, and cultural events and personalities during a time of dramatic change in Europe.
- Encyclopedia of French Film Directors byISBN: 9780810861374From undisputed masters to obscure one-timers, nearly 3,000 directors are cited, including at least 200 filmmakers not mentioned in similar books published in France. Each director's entry contains a brief biographical summary, including dates and places of birth and death; information on the individual's education and professional training; and other pertinent details, such as real names (when the filmmaker uses a pseudonym).
Books from other Libraries
If you can't find the book you are looking for please check the collection of other institutions around Canada on WorldCat.org. UCalgary Library is providing an InterLibrary Loan Service for faculty, students and staff. It is free and usually takes not longer then a couple of days until the pdf-document or book arrives.