Open Educational Resources (OER)
This guide provides information and resources to help support you learn about OER, find and evaluate existing OER, adopt OER, and create OER projects.
- Open Education @ UCalgary
- LCR Open Education Workshops & Events
- About Open Educational Resources (OER)
- Finding OER
- Adopting, Developing, & Evaluating OER
- Open Education Alberta Publishing Service: Creating OER in Pressbooks
- Open Educational Practices: OER-Enabled and Open Pedagogy
- Copyright & Open Licensing
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Contact Us
Finding OER by Material Type
For finding open educational resources and other open content by material type, visit the Open Services Suite and Open Content Research Guide. There you will find curated lists of repositories for searching for openly licensed images, audio, video, textbooks and eBooks, journal articles, data, simulations and models, and Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs).
OER by Discipline Guides
Take a look at these resources that have been created and curated by other organizations and institutions, for lists of discipline-specific OER and search locations. The OER in these guides have been adopted and/or evaluated by subject-experts, librarians, and other educators prior to inclusion.
- OER by Discipline Guide: University of CalgaryThis guide supports faculty to locate quality open educational resources in their subject area through curated lists of OER organized according to the faculties, departments, and subjects at UCalgary. The Open Educational Resources within this guide have been evaluated by faculty, librarians, and other relevant parties prior to inclusion. This guide will be updated periodically as new resources are identified, evaluated, and adopted.
OER Repositories by Discipline
General
- OAPEN: Includes freely accessible academic books mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences.
Geography
- Open Geography Education: Provides free and open textbooks and other online resources in the areas of geography and geospatial technology.
Psychology
- NOBA: Includes open textbooks in Psychology that can be customized or built from scratch from content licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
Public Domain Works: Fiction and Non-fiction
- Project Gutenberg: Large collection of eBooks in the Public Domain because the copyright has either expired or the copyright holder has given explicit permission for unlimited non-commercial worldwide use. Contains many classic works of literature.
- Public Domain Core Collection: Includes fiction and non-fiction public domain works that have been adapted for post-secondary use through Pressbooks. This collection is a collaborative project between Ryerson and Brock universities.
Case Studies
- IBIMA Business Review Journal (IBIMABR): IBIMA Business Review Journal (IBIMABR) is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that publishes publishing quality Case Studies in all business fields that significantly contribute to practice and support continuous learning efforts in organizations.
- University of Lethbridge Open Educational Resources: Business Cases Guide: This guide developed by the University of Lethbridge provides a curated list of websites and repositories for searching for open cases, along with recommended databases.
- UBC Business Case Studies: Free Case Studies Guide: UBC has also developed a guide with a curated list of organizations who provide free access to case studies.
General
- Okanagan College Library, Business Open Educational Resources: This Library Guide provides a curated list of open educational resources and other resources for OER around different topics within business.
Engineering, General
- Open Textbooks for Engineering Library Guide: Authored by the Engineering Library Division for the American Society for Engineering Education, this Library Guide provides curated lists of suggested open textbooks relevant to various areas of focus within engineering.
- COERLL: a website developed by the Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning with learning materials, language tools, and teaching methods for learning languages.
General
- ABlawg: The University of Calgary Faculty of Law Blog: includes commentary by faculty members, sessional instructors, research associates at our affiliated institutes, and students on court and tribunal decisions as well as legislative and policy developments in Alberta and beyond. We intend ABlawg to foster crtical thinking on legal and policy developments. All AABlawg posts are licensed under a Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International (Description from website).
- Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLII): While not an OER repository, this Canadian database offers a variety of materials including free-to-use, Open Access, and OER. Through it's mandate CANLII provides online access to judicial decisions, legislative documents, and secondary law materials (description adapted from CANLII).
- Some example of Open Access and OER resources include:
General
- Assayer: An online catalogue and reviews of books that have been made available for free by the author with a focus on books about math, science, and computers.
- NSDL (National Science Digital Library): Digital resources and collections supporting science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education.
- PhET Interactive simulations: Interactive, research-based simulations of physical phenomena for free.
Biology
- iBiology: Their mission is to convey, in the form of open-access free videos, the excitement of modern biology and the process by which scientific discoveries are made (Taken from website).
Chemistry
- ChemCollective: is a collection of open access curriculum materials for instructors and students including virtual labs, scenario-based activities, tutorials, and concept tests.
Computer Science
- Green Tea Press Textbooks: A collection of free and open books by Allen Downey focusing on computer science.
- Assayer: An online catalogue and reviews of books that have been made available for free by the author with a focus on books about math, science, and computers.
Earth, Energy and Environment
- Open Geography Education: Provides free and open textbooks and other online resources in the areas of geography and geospatial technology.
Mathematics and Statistics
- American Institute of Mathematics: This institute encourages the adoption of open source and open access mathematics textbooks. The AIM Editorial Board has developed evaluation criteria to identify open textbooks suitable for university courses and they maintain an Approved Textbooks list that meets this criteria.
- Open Social Work WebsiteA collaborative project that addresses open education, open access, open science, and the practices that support them. We are inspired to support the human rights to free access to knowledge and equitable access to education [from website]. Based in the U.S., this website includes curated open resources for Social Work education.
- Last Updated: Mar 11, 2024 4:45 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/OER
- Print Page