Library Resources for Graduate Students
Finding Resources
Information comes in a variety of formats, ranging from the typical text-based forms such as books and articles, to audiovisual (sound, images, videos), numeric (statistics and financial data), spatial (maps and GIS) and more. The library collection contains all of these kinds of data and more. Different formats may be found in different databases, sources, and physical locations. Browse our collections yourself, or contact your subject librarian to book a consultation for your learning, teaching or research needs.
Begin your search for information with the library search box.
- Library Search boxThe library search box searches across a variety of sources including our physical, digitized, & electronic collections. This might be a good starting point for your research.
Information comes in a variety of formats, ranging from the typical text-based forms such as books and articles, to audiovisual (sound, images, videos), numeric (statistics and financial data), spatial (maps and GIS) and more. The library collection contains all of these kinds of data and more. Different formats may be found in different databases, sources, and physical locations. Browse our collections yourself, or contact your subject librarian to book a consultation for your learning, teaching or research needs.
Consult the Research Guides list by subject, course or general topic.
- Research GuidesThe library has Research Guides for all disciplines. These are a great starting point for identifying what the best resources in your subject area are.
Information comes in a variety of formats, ranging from the typical text-based forms such as books and articles, to audiovisual (sound, images, videos), numeric (statistics and financial data), spatial (maps and GIS) and more. The library collection contains all of these kinds of data and more. Different formats may be found in different databases, sources, and physical locations. Browse our collections yourself, or contact your subject librarian to book a consultation for your learning, teaching or research needs.
- Databases ListFind a database relevant to your subject area by using the drop down menu on the top left of the Databases page and selecting your subject.
Select the image below to open the tutorial in a new window.
Select the image below to open the tutorial in a new window.
Select the image below to open the tutorial in a new window for more details.
Other Types of Information
Check out one of the guides (below) on finding different kinds of spatial and numeric data.
- Spatial and Numeric Data ServicesConnect with our data experts at at the Spatial and Data Numeric Services (SANDS)
- GIS ResourcesNeed access to spatial (GIS) data files? Contact SANDS with your question
- Map Internet ResourcesSpatial and Numeric Data Services has about 200,000 print maps.
Do you need to search news sources or carry out a media analysis as part of your course or research? Or maybe you just want to read a Calgary Herald article from 2 days ago.
- Newspapers and News MediaThe research guide contains the top sources and databases for newspaper coverage in Canada, US and across the globe.
- Fake NewsThis guide helps students understand and spot misinformation
Did you know that there is a digital archive containing University of Calgary master’s and doctoral theses? Are you looking for a previously published dissertation from your department?
- PRISMSearch this guide for institutional copies of theses and dissertations
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalLooking for a thesis or dissertation from another institution? This guide is a database containing dissertations & theses from around the world. It offers full text for works added since 1997, and selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
- Watch the video below for a quick tutorial on Finding Theses from the library collection
Looking for film or video resources? Check out our Video research guide which lists databases as well as open access (free) sources for videos.
- Research Guide on VideosInterdisciplinary guide to key educational video resources
- Film and Video databasesClick this link to see the databases which contain film or video information. This can be filtered further by using the subject drop down option on the top left.
Images can be found from a variety of sources. Databases may contain images related to the subject areas being covered. The library also has a whole collection of images including digitized photographs from various collections. Images can also be found in the public domain.
- Creative CommonsIf you use images that were found freely online, make sure you are not violating copyright. You should ask permission from the source/creator, or use images that are licensed with a Creative Commons designation.
- ColourboxThis is an image database. Colourbox (education license), offers over 4 million images and videos that can be used for any non-commercial purpose. You must set up an account to download images.
- Images Canada - Picturing Canadian CultureA public domain image database that provides access to the thousands of images held on the websites of participating Canadian cultural institutions.
- Flickr - Creative CommondsFlickr users may choose to allow others to use their photos under Creative Commons. Conduct a Flickr search, and then choose License: Creative Commons to find only those that have the right permissions.
- Google ImagesTo filter your search to Creative Commons / Public Use images: Search Tools, Usage Rights, Labled for Noncommerical Reuse
Tutorials on using the UCalgary Library interface and accessing a variety of materials
Looking for a quick overview on how to use the UCalgary Library interface to find books, articles, databases, research guides, or carry out an advanced search. Check out our interactive tutorials that you learn from and practice with so you can become an efficient searcher.
The image below opens the tutorial in a new window.
The image below opens the tutorial in a new window.
The image below opens the tutorial in a new window.
The image below opens the tutorial in a new window.
The image below opens the tutorial in a new window.
The image below opens the tutorial in a new window.
The image below opens the tutorial in a new window.
The image below opens the tutorial in a new window.
The image below opens the tutorial in a new window.
The image below opens the tutorial in a new window.
The image below opens the tutorial in a new window.
