Library Resources for Graduate Students
Introduction to Citations
Video about citations created by University of Massachusetts Lowell O'Leary Library Media Center
About Citation Management Tools
Citation management tools help you collect, organize and share information for research and writing. Most perform the same functions and most are freely available. Each citation tool has its own plug-in for Microsoft Word, some have browser plug-ins for easy capture of web links and most have built-in connections to common library reference databases. All of these tools have options for group-based collaborative research.
Using and Citing Sources
| ENDNOTE Desktop |
- EndNote's Cite-While-You-Write Plug-inHow to insert citations in a Word document using the Cite-While-You-Write plug-in available in EndNote
| ZOTERO |
- Zotero LibGuideZotero is a citation management tool that will help you collect, save, organize, share, and cite your sources when researching
- Zotero's Word Processor Plug-inZotero's plug-in helps create collections to organize your references into different areas of interests, such as for different projects or classes.
Select a citation style based on specific disciplines and requirements from instructors or departments.
-
LAW Legal Citation (McGill Guide) Quick Reference
by Bennett Jones Law Library Last Updated Sep 27, 2024 33647 views this year
Theses and Dissertations Writing Resources
This section contains links and information provided by the Faculty of Graduate Studies and the Copyright Office on thesis writing and submission.
- Thesis Formatting GuidelinesThis 15-page document contains the Faculty of Graduate Studies guidelines for your thesis. It includes general style recommendations, formatting requirements, components of your thesis, permissions, as well as a sample title page
- Copyright - Thesis copyright GuidelinesThe pdf document talks about using copyrighted material in a thesis or dissertation as well as copyright issues related to electronic deposit of theses and dissertations at the University of Calgary.
- Submitting your ThesisAll you need to know about required documents, links to relevant forms, submission deadline and times, and more - from the Faculty of Graduate Studies (FGS) Submit Your Thesis webpage.
- Student Success CentreThe centre provides writing support which includes writing workshops, one-on-one appointments, online resources & handouts, and more. This should be your first stop for writing support.
- Writing Support ServicesNeed help with writing your paper? The link provides an overview of what support is provided for UCalgary students.
Writing tools & resources for students and scholars including subject associations.
- Academic Writing - GeneralThis tab of the Writing Help research guide has some excellent handouts that were created by the Student Success Centre on topics such as developing a thesis statement and outlining your essay.
- Academic Writing - for LawThis guide called LAW Writing For and Publishing In Law Journals contains a page on academic writing within the law discipline. This page contains articles, books and even resources for new law teachers.
- Writing - for BusinessThis guide has pages on Writing & Presentations relevant to business. The writing tab contains book & online resources about writing in Business, including an article about writing from Harvard Business Review.
Strategies for Writing a Thesis by Publication in the Social Sciences and Humanities by ISBN: 0429261675Publication Date: 2020-10-12This book offers practical advice and critical discussion of some of the central choices and challenges that PhD students considering dissertation options face.
