Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Services Suite & Open Content

The guide provides supports for finding, creating, publishing, and hosting open content and using LCR's Open Services Suite.

Searching for Open Content by Material Type

SANDS Web Mapping Applications

LCR's Spatial and Numeric Data Services (SANDS) have produced a number of web mapping applications for select collections, some of which is in the Public Domain or Open Access.

Imagery Web Mapping Applications

Air Photo Digitized Collection, Alberta (1922 - 1959, 7000+ digital photos): This tool is designed to allow easy public discovery of 7000+ copyright cleared digitized aerial photographs from the SANDS collection.

Air Photo Set Search Tool (Air Photo Search Guide): This search tool is designed to assist users to search SANDS' aerial photograph collection.

Oblique Photos - Calgary, Alberta (1970s): This tool is designed to allow easy public discovery of oblique photos of Calgary flown by MachAir Surveys in the 1970s. Images we scanned from original negatives and copyright is held by SANDS.

Visit the SANDS Web Mapping Applications to access these tools

Map Web Mapping Applications

Cummins Rural Directory Maps - Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba (1922/1923): This application displays part of the Canadian Township System and provides links to Cummins Rural Directory maps (sometimes referred to as homestead maps) from SANDS collection.

Fire Insurance Plans - Calgary, Alberta (1911 - 1970s): This index map displays both the years and areas in Calgary for which SANDS has fire insurance plan coverage.

International Map of the World - Canada Set (1:1,000,000 Topographic Series): This International Map of the World (IMW) index map covers only Canada and provides links to the scanned maps from the SANDS collection.

National Topographic System Maps of Alberta (1907 - 1969, Various Scales): This application displays the National Topographic System (NTS) grids at various scales and provide links to the scanned maps from the SANDS collection.

Topographic Maps, by Sections - Calgary, Alberta (1963 - 1990, scale of 1:2000): This application displays the Alberta Township System (ATS) for Calgary and provides links to the canned topographic maps from the SANDS collection.

Township Plans, Alberta (1883 - 1919): This application displays Alberta Township Plans from the SANDS collection.

Sectional Maps, Canadian Prairies (1 to 3 Mile, 1902 - 1955): This index provides links to sectional maps at the 1 to 3 mile scale, with coverage mainly of the Canadian Prairies, from the SANDS collections.

Visit the SANDS Web Mapping Applications to access these tools

Finding Open Access

Finding Open Educational Resources (OER)

Finding Open Data

OSS & Open Content Guide Licence


This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0) unless otherwise noted.