Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Services Suite & Open Content

The guide provides supports for finding, creating, publishing, and hosting open content and using LCR's Open Services Suite.

Looking to deposit a resource you've already developed?

Depending on the research or educational output(s) you have, one of our repositories may suit the material and file formats better than others. Refer to the information provided about each repository in your decision making.

Have questions or are uncertain about which repository to use? Contact us via our Open Services Suite Question Form

About PRISM

PRISM is UCalgary's institutional repository where your research and educational outputs can be deposited for hosting, access, preserving, and sharing.

MATERIAL TYPES
  • Research and educational materials and publications
  • Reports and projects
  • Reviews
  • Thesis or Dissertations
  • Conference and workshop posters and presentation materials
LICENCE TYPES
  • Creative Commons Open License (default licence)
  • Public Domain (CC0)
  • Restricted copyright
USE TO
  • Host content
  • Access content
  • Preserve content
  • Share (disseminate) content
FILE FORMATS

    Any file types are accepted. The file types listed below help ensure long-term preservation.

  • Containers: TAR, GZIP, ZIP
  • Databases: XML, CSV
  • Moving images: MOV, MPEG, AVI
  • Software and gaming: BAGIT, ZIP, TAR or AXF
  • Sounds: WAV, AIFF, MP3
  • Still images: TIFF, JPEG 2000, PDF
  • Tabular data: CSV
  • Text: PDF/A, EPUB
About PRISM Data

PRISM Data is UCalgary's institutional data repository for hosting, accessing, preserving, and sharing your research data openly.

MATERIAL TYPES
  • Research datasets
  • Primary research materials
LICENCE TYPES
  • Public Domain (CC0) data (default)
  • Openly licensed data
  • Restricted copyright data
USE TO
  • Host data
  • Access data
  • Preserve data
  • Share (disseminate) data
FILE FORMATS

     Any file types are accepted, with some limitations on file size.

  • Single file size limit: 3 GB
  • Tabular file size limit: 500 MB

     Examples of file types accepted:

  • Documents: PDF, DOCX, TXT, PPTX
  • Images: JPG, PNG, TIFF
  • Videos: MOV, MP4
  • Audio: MP3, WAV
  • Tabular files: XLSX, SAV, DTA, R, CSV, TSV, TAB
  • Compressed files: ZIP
NOT SUITABLE FOR
  • Personal/confidential information
  • High-volume computational processing infrastructure
  • Big data projects
About Digital Collections

Digital Collections is a repository for archival and multimedia-focused collections.

MATERIAL TYPES
  • LCR's library, museum, and archival primary holdings
  • Albertan and Canadian collections
  • Educational resources
LICENCE TYPES
  • Openly licensed materials
  • Public Domain (CC0) materials
  • Restricted copyright materials
USE TO
  • Host materials
  • Access materials
  • Preserve materials
  • Share (disseminate) materials
FILE FORMATS

Digital Collections focuses on multimedia-based collections, which can also contain associated textual files and other file formats.

About Web Archiving

Web Archiving is a service offered for the capture, retention, and dissemination of  websites affiliated with UCalgary managed through Archive-It.

MATERIAL TYPES
  • Research websites
  • Teaching and learning websites, including web-based open educational resources
  • UCalgary cultural heritage websites
LICENCE TYPES
  • Openly licensed websites
  • Public Domain (CC0) websites
  • Restricted copyright websites
USE TO
  • Host archived websites
  • Access archived websites
  • Preserve archived websites
  • Share (disseminate) archived websites

Looking to publish a new open access resource?

If you do not yet have content in a fixed form and are looking to publish a new open access resource, LCR has three publishing services for a variety of open access resources. Refer to the information about each publishing service in your decision making.

Have questions about open access, Journal Hosting, or Open Education Alberta? Contact us via our Open Services Suite Question Form

Interested in publishing with the University Press? Contact the Press via email at ucpbooks@ucalgary.ca

About PRISM

PRISM is UCalgary's institutional repository where your research and educational outputs can be deposited for hosting, access, preserving, and sharing.

MATERIAL TYPES
  • Research and educational materials and publications
  • Reports and projects
  • Reviews
  • Thesis or Dissertations
  • Conference and workshop posters and presentation materials
LICENCE TYPES
  • Creative Commons Open License (default licence)
  • Public Domain (CC0)
  • Restricted copyright
USE TO
  • Host content
  • Access content
  • Preserve content
  • Share (disseminate) content
FILE FORMATS

    Any file types are accepted. The file types listed below help ensure long-term preservation.

  • Containers: TAR, GZIP, ZIP
  • Databases: XML, CSV
  • Moving images: MOV, MPEG, AVI
  • Software and gaming: BAGIT, ZIP, TAR or AXF
  • Sounds: WAV, AIFF, MP3
  • Still images: TIFF, JPEG 2000, PDF
  • Tabular data: CSV
  • Text: PDF/A, EPUB
About Journal Hosting

LCR's Journal Hosting Service supports open access scholarly and student journals to host and publish their journal issues and articles.

MATERIAL TYPES
  • Open Access scholarly journals
  • Open Access student journals
  • Subscription scholarly journals
LICENCE TYPES
  • Openly licensed journals
  • Hybrid journals
  • Subscription-based journals
USE TO
  • Develop and publish journal issues
  • Host journal content
  • Access journal content
  • Preserve journal content
  • Disseminate (share) journal content
FILE FORMATS
  • File types and preferences will vary by journal for submissions and publishing.
About Open Education Alberta

Open Education Alberta is a publishing service for book-like resources supported by partnered Alberta institutions for openly licensed resources that allow for adaptation, re-purposing, and redistribution by others, which includes open educational resources (OER) and open access publications.

MATERIAL TYPES
  • Open educational resources or open access resources (book-like formatting)
    • Open textbooks
    • Toolkits
    • Guides
    • Tutorials
    • Manuals
    • Case studies, and more
LICENCE TYPES
  • Openly licensed materials that can be shared and adapted (CC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-SA, CC BY-NC-SA)
USE TO
  • Develop and publish OER
  • Host OER
  • Access OER
  • Share (disseminate) OER
FILE FORMATS
  • Import to create OER: EPUB, DOCX, ODT, XML, WXR, HTML, URL, or create directly in Pressbooks platform
  • Exports available for published OER: Print PDF, Digital PDF, EPUB, Pressbooks XML
  • Supported file formats within OER:
    • Images (embedded): JPG, JPEG, PNG, GIF
    • Audio (embedded): MP3, MIDI, MID, M4A
    • Video (embedded): MOV, AVI, WMV, MP4
    • Documents (inserted as links): PDF, EPUB, PPTX, XLSX

LCR Publishing Services in partnership with the University of Calgary Press is proud to make books available in fully Open Access PDF versions available for free use by students, scholars, and the public around the world.

As an academic publisher, we feel a responsibility to ensure that knowledge is accessible to the widest possible audience. We therefore embrace Open Access publishing and make our scholarly books available in free-to-download PDF format under a BY-NC-ND Creative Commons license in addition to publishing our books in print and for-purchase eBook formats.

If you have questions about Open Access publishing, please contact us.

University of Calgary Press Open Access Titles

Looking to develop an adapted or new Open Educational Resouces (OER)?

If you do not yet have content in a fixed form and are looking to create a new OER or adapt an existing OER, our Open Education Alberta Pressbooks publishing service may be the right fit for you.

OER are teaching, learning, and research materials that are made freely available online under an open licence in the public domain, allowing for the reuse, re-purposing, and redistribution by others. OER fulfill all 5R's of Open referred to in the About Open Content section in this guide.

Have questions about open educational resources or the Open Education Alberta service? Contact us via our Open Services Suite Question Form

About Open Education Alberta

Open Education Alberta is a publishing service for book-like resources supported by partnered Alberta institutions for openly licensed resources that allow for adaptation, re-purposing, and redistribution by others, which includes open educational resources (OER) and open access publications.

MATERIAL TYPES
  • Open educational resources or open access resources (book-like formatting)
    • Open textbooks
    • Toolkits
    • Guides
    • Tutorials
    • Manuals
    • Case studies, and more
LICENCE TYPES
  • Openly licensed that can be shared and adapted by others (i.e. CC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-SA, CC BY-NC-SA)
USE TO
  • Develop and publish OER
  • Host OER
  • Access OER
  • Share (disseminate) OER
FILE FORMATS
  • Import to create OER: EPUB, DOCX, ODT, XML, WXR, HTML, URL, or create directly in Pressbooks platform
  • Exports available for published OER: Print PDF, Digital PDF, EPUB, Pressbooks XML
  • Supported file formats within OER:
    • Images (embedded): JPG, JPEG, PNG, GIF
    • Audio (embedded): MP3, MIDI, MID, M4A
    • Video (embedded): MOV, AVI, WMV, MP4
    • Documents (inserted as links): PDF, EPUB, PPTX, XLSX

Looking to deposit open data?

At the end of your research project you will likely be looking to deposit your open data for the purposes of long-term preservation and access. At UCalgary, we support PRISM Data as a option for data depositing. Externally there are also other options available to you depending on your needs. Refer to the information about each option in your decision making.

More information about these options can be found in the Illuminating Research Data Management Professional Development Webinar Series

About PRISM Data

PRISM Data is UCalgary's institutional data repository for hosting, accessing, preserving, and sharing your research data openly.

MATERIAL TYPES
  • Research datasets
  • Primary research materials
LICENCE TYPES
  • Public Domain (CC0) data (default)
  • Openly licensed data
  • Restricted copyright data
USE TO
  • Host data
  • Access data
  • Preserve data
  • Share (disseminate) data
FILE FORMATS

     Any file types are accepted, with some limitations on file size.

  • Single file size limit: 3 GB
  • Tabular file size limit: 500 MB

     Examples of file types accepted:

  • Documents: PDF, DOCX, TXT, PPTX
  • Images: JPG, PNG, TIFF
  • Videos: MOV, MP4
  • Audio: MP3, WAV
  • Tabular files: XLSX, SAV, DTA, R, CSV, TSV, TAB
  • Compressed files: ZIP
NOT SUITABLE FOR
  • Personal/confidential information
  • High-volume computational processing infrastructure
  • Big data projects

Some external repository options for depositing open data for long-term preservation and access include:

OSS & Open Content Guide Licence


This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0) unless otherwise noted.