Dance
This guide provides selected resources available to you through UCalgary Library and the Internet
The University of Calgary's dance collection is located on the sixth floor of the Taylor Family Digital Library. It includes audio recordings (Streaming, CD's, LP's,etc.), videos, books, periodicals and printed & digital dance choreographies.
Key Resources
- International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full TextInternational Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (IBTD) expands on the 16-year coverage of its multi-volume predecessor with an additional 100,000 articles, essays and book chapters mined from internationally selected publications in drama, dance, media, mime, mixed entertainment, storytelling, music-drama, and puppetry.
- Performing Arts Periodicals DatabasePreviously known as the International Index of Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text, the Performing Arts Periodicals Database is the only online resource covering the performing arts. It enables you to search and browse citations, abstracts and selected full text in a comprehensive range of journals. A variety of subjects is covered, including dance, film, drama, television, the arts and entertainment industry, stagecraft, magic, musical theatre and performance art.
- The Oxford Dictionary of DanceThe work covers all aspects of the diverse dance world from classical ballet to modern, from flamenco to hip-hop, from tap to South Asian dance forms and includes detailed entries on technical terms, steps, styles, works, and countries, in addition to many biographies of dancers, choreographers, and companies.
Key Streaming Platforms
- Dance in Video
Dance Online: Dance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance - Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive
Interactive film streaming platform that provides excerpts from performances at Jacob's Pillow since the 1930's. - Music Online: Listening
Music Online: Listening is a multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Music Online: Listening allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world. This database includes the following parts: Music online: American music; Music online: Classical music library; Music online: Contemporary world music; Music online: Jazz music library; Music online: Popular music library; Music online: Smithsonian global sound.