Dance
This guide provides selected resources available to you through UCalgary Library and the Internet
Streaming Platforms
- Music OnlineMusic Online: Listening is a multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Music Online: Listening allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world. This database includes the following parts: Music online: American music; Music online: Classical music library; Music online: Contemporary world music; Music online: Jazz music library; Music online: Popular music library; Music online: Smithsonian global sound.
- DRAMNearly 2,000 albums (15,000 compositions) worth of recordings from a distinctive set of 15 independent labels. The basis for the current collection is the diverse catalogue of American music recordings by New World Records offering folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and more. Additionally, it Includes liner notes and essays.
How to Find CD's
 |
 |
 |
| On the library homepage click on Advanced Search | Type in your Search, for example: Brahms and select Audio Visual under Content Type | The results show location and call number (generally at TFDL, 1st Floor or at HDL) |
Other Sound Resources
- Virtual Gramophone: Canadian Historical Sound RecordingsVirtual Gramophone is a multimedia website devoted to the early days of Canadian recorded sound, providing an overview of the 78-rpm era in Canada. The database contains information for 78-rpm and cylinder recordings released in Canada from 1900 to 1950, as well as foreign recordings featuring Canadian artists and/or compositions.
- World & Traditional MusicBritish Library Sounds presents 50,000 recordings and their associated documentation from the Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
- Deutsche Grammophon YouTube ChannelRecordings of performances of classical music by Deutsche Grammophon. It includes musicians of the past 100 years: Abbado, Argerich, Barenboim, Bernstein, Boulez, Domingo, Dudamel, Gilels, Horowitz, Karajan, Kleiber, Mutter, Netrebko, Salonen, Zimerman, etc.