BUSN - Marketing and Consumer Research
Resources on marketing, market research, advertising rates and more
Market Research Resources
- Statistics CanadaView the list of subject areas to access relevant data or search by keyword. Subjects include: population and demography, families, income, education, society and community, seniors, etc.
- Consumer Lifestyle ReportsAccessed through the Passport database, these reports are country-specific and provide a detailed analysis of demographics and all aspects of consumer life in that country.
- Canadian Megatrends (Statistics Canada)Statistics Canada analyzes historical data to highlight some of the sweeping changes that have had a lasting impact on Canadian society and economy.
- Canada Business NetworkThis is an excellent resource from the Government of Canada that provides entrepreneurs with access to reliable, up-to-date and relevant information to help them start and grow their business. Provides extensive information on starting a business.
- Canadian Index of Wellbeing (University of Waterloo)Discusses the major trends that are reshaping time use, leisure and culture activities among Canadians. The index tracks changes in eight quality of life categories or "domains" including community vitality, democratic engagement, education, environment, healthy populations, leisure and culture, living standards, and time use.
- PEW Internet & American Life ProjectResearch reports on the impact of the Internet and technology on American society. Although the research is based in the US it has many applications to the Canadian technological environment. Various types of technology and demographic groups are studied. Includes reports such as: |
"The Rise of Networked Individuals and their role in the life of entrepreneurs" - Consumer Expenditure Survey (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)(Open Access)
Provides information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. - Centre for the Study of Living StandardsThe focus of CSLS is to "investigate trends in and determinants of productivity, living standards and economic and social well-being through research."
Includes "Index of Economic Well-being", labour markets, productivity, industry sectors and more. - Environics Analytics: Prizm Segmentation(Limited data available online)
PRIZM C2 provides 66 lifestyle types that describe the behaviour and mindset of Canadian consumers. Click on "Lifestyle lookup" to identify the segment that best describes your neighbourhood. - How to prepare a market analysis (Edward Lowe Foundation)"Investigation and analysis of your competition and potential customer base are major components of a comprehensive market analysis. This checklist of resources for gathering market data provides perspective regarding common market research tools and methods".
- USA.govFind data about the U.S., such as Census data, maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
- DJS Research (formerly Market Research World)(Open Access)
This website includes a library of research articles, marketing research news, market research findings by industry sector, information on the market research process and conducting market research, analyzing statistics and survey data, a market research glossary and useful market research links.
Other research guides and websites that will be helpful for market research:
- SAGE researchmethods This link opens in a new windowSAGE ResearchMethods also has quite a few resources that can help you develop your market research strategies. Just search for "market research" to find items that will help get you started.