Use the Library Search Box to locate archaeology books both print and digital.
Other good sources for locating digital books include:
ProQuest E-Book Central - over 100,000 digital books on all topics
eHRAF Archaeology - thousands of full-text documents organized by culture and subject
eHRAF World Cultures - "a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. "
UCPress e-book collection: collection includes almost 2000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction.
SpringerLink - hundreds of digital books on archaeology
Searching further afield
TAL Online - search everything that is owned by libraries in Alberta
In North America,
WorldCat - search libraries in the US and Canada. If another library owns it, fill out an interlibrary loan form to bring it here.
Centre for Research Libraries - find rare and unique resources on humanities and social science topics.
The European Library - search 48 European national libraries and research institutions.
Understanding Call Numbers
Call Number Locations
Within the Taylor Family Digital Library and each of the branches, items with a given call number may be found in several locations, depending on whether they are part of the main collection or are housed in a special collection because of their importance, format, etc. Check the call number using the screens on each floor of the TFDL to determine where each work is located.
How to Read a Library of Congress Call Number
Each item is given a call number. For example, the book Power and Society has the call number JC251 .L3 where
- J - identifies the book with the materials dealing with Political Science
- C - locates it with materials on Political Theory
- 251 - locates it in a smaller group within Political Theory dealing with political structures in the USA in the 20th century
- L - the first letter of the author's last name
- 3 - number assigned to this book
Call Number Shelving Order
- 1. - G5075 .E5
- 2. - HC3 .B1
- G precedes HC alphabetically
- 3. - HD987 .C34 1980
- HC precedes HD alphabetically
- 4. - HD9560.4 .O63 1982
- 987 precedes 9560.4 numerically
- 5. - HD9560.4 .W47 1982
- O precedes W alphabetically
- 6. - HD9560.4 .W6 1970
- .47 precedes .6 numerically (.W47 and .W6 are read as decimal numbers)
- Last Updated: May 17, 2023 12:00 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/archaeology
- Print Page