Gender and Sexuality Studies
What IS a Database?
Simply put, an electronic database is system for labelling, organizing, storing and retrieving information.
For a short (two minute) explanation, watch this tutorial about databases from RMIT University.
Boolean Phrase!? What is That?
And. Or. Not.
These words may be small, but they're mighty. They're Boolean Operators and they're fundamental to database searching. Click on the link to this 3:29 minute video from the University of Calgary to understand why.
Gender and Sexuality Studies Key Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and a total of more than 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowIndex of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. With indexing for over 1,800 journals from 1895 to the present.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new windowFamily & Society Studies Worldwide is a core resource providing the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. Comprised of four database files, Family & Society Studies Worldwide meets educational needs of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. It indexes publications from a wide range of social science disciplines, including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work. FSSW provides access to more than 1.6 million records with coverage dating from 1930 to the present.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more ... Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
- LGBTQ+ source This link opens in a new windowLGBTQ+ Source contains full text for more than 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines and regional newspapers, plus full text for 150 monographs/books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms.
- SocINDEX with Fulltext This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 242 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.
- iPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal Research ToolThe Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) through the University of Saskatchewan is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowTo set up Google Scholar to detect UofC subscribed resources, refer to Google Scholar setup (in the Natural Sciences Programme LibGuide)A subset of Google that only indexes academic journals. Pros: searching is very easy - just like for regular Google. Covers journals in many disciplines. Cons: Limited functionality for filtering results. May include some journals of dubious quality.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a shared digital library which includes over 2,300 academic journals (dating back to the first volume ever published), along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education. JSTOR also includes articles in the public domain, including Early Journal Content (U.S. content published before 1923 and non-U.S. content published prior to 1870).
- Access to subscribed content and open access eBooks
- Last Updated: May 17, 2023 12:00 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/gsxs
- Print Page
Subjects: Gender and Sexuality Studies
Tags: gender studies, women's studies