GOVINFO: Canadian Federal Government Information

Content: Lists of publications arranged by broad subject categories.

• Background Papers
  In-depth studies of policy issues,including historical background, current information and references. Many of these papers anticipate the emergence of the policy issues
• In Briefs
  Short briefings on current issues that may refer the reader to more substantive sources published on the same topic.

Date Coverage: Early 1980's to 2011 (varies with the subject)
NB. The older publications are found within each subject category by clicking on the word Archives in the upper right hand corner.
NB. Some of the links do not work as these documents are not updated. Many are not accessible to the public for viewing.
Full-text Availability: Yes

Content: List of links to federal departmental and agency websites that provide sources and information on obtaining federal government publications that are not available from Publishing and Depository Services.

Content: Provides analysis, explanations, purpose and history of federal government bills (proposed legislation). May include media reaction and comments from interest groups. Excluded are any bills that deal with money (appropriation bills, borrowing-authority bills, budget implementation bills, or measure relating to ways and means motions, or emergency bills)
Date Coverage: 2008 (40th Parliament 1st Session) to Current
NB. Information on bills from older sessions of Parliament (before 40th Parliament) is found in LEGISinfo
Full-text Availability: Yes

Content: Provides information on Canada's trade and investment relationship with selected countries. Particular attention is paid to bilateral merchandise trade, trade in services and foreign investment. Also provides information on the merchandise trade relationship that each of Canada's 10 provinces and three territories has with the world.
Date Coverage: 2009 to Current
Full-text Availability: Yes