GOVINFO: Canadian Federal Government Information
General guide for locating Canadian federal government information
Introduction to Online Resources
There are very few databases available for locating Canadian federal government information. For the purposes of this listing, a database is a resource that is searchable, ie., not just a browseable list of items.
The databases are listed by:
- content coverage
- General Content (covering a broad range of subjects)
- Subject Specific Content (covering a specific type of subject or subject area, eg. health or a specific type of government information, eg. royal commissions).
Databases (Searchable)
- Canadiana Discovery PortalContent: Canada’s documentary heritage that includes digital collections from Canada's libraries, archives and museums. Digital materials include books, journals, newspapers, >b>government documents, photographs, maps, post cards, sheet music, audio and video files about our nation’s heritage. NB. Includes more than government information.
Date Coverage: Unknown
Full-text Availability: Yes
Search Tips: Use keywords for the person, place, event or topic of interest in the search box or choose one of the sample topics: - Canadian Research Index (CRI)Content: Canadian federal, provincial, and municipal documents issued by government agencies and departments; scientific and technical report literature issued by research institutes and government laboratories; policy, social, economic, and political reports; Statistics Canada monographs, and serials.
Date Coverage: 1982 to the Present
Full-text Availability: Some but only for new items.
Permitted Uses: License Terms of UseSearch Tip: Check the description of the document to find the URL linking to the document itself or note the Microlog number to find the document in the microfiche collection Article Comparing Microlog with the Canadian Public Policy Collection - Early Canadiana OnlineContent: Early Official Publications portion includes colonial and federal government documents (government acts, bills, committee reports, court rules, debates, journals, ordinances, selection of official publications from France and Great Britain, sessional papers, regulations, royal commission reports, and treaties.
Date Coverage: 1575 to 1900
Full-text Availability: Yes - Government of Canada Web ArchiveContent: Contains snapshots of Canadian government websites taken by Library and Archives Canada
Date Coverage: Snapshots started late Dec. 2005/early Winter 2006.
Updated: 2 times per year
Search Tips: Search Tips:Google only indexes the main page of the GCWA. It does not google archived websites contained in the GCWA. LAC has blocked Google and similar Internet crawlers from crawling the contents.
FAQ - Government of Canada Web Archive - Canadian Public Policy Collection (eBrary)Content: Documents from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.
Date Coverage: Some 1990's to the Present
Full-text Availability: Yes
Permitted Uses: License Terms of Use
Search Tip: Use Advanced Search to narrow your search down to Collection - Canadian Public Policy. If not, you are searching the entire Canadian Electronic Collection (often referred to as eBrary). - Government of Canada PublicationsContent: Online catalogue over 275,000 Government of Canada publications including !50,000 free electronic publications.
Date Coverage: 1866 to Current
Full-text Availability: Some
- Department of Foreign Affairs Digital LibraryContent: Includes over one million pages of departmental publications have been digitized and are housed in a searchable research database. Iinclude material such as the Communiqués (1948-1995), Canadian Representation Abroad, CanadExport and other important works, in both official languages where possible.
Date Coverage: 1910? to 2013
Full-text Availability: YesJules Leger Library worked in cooperation with Canadiana.org to create this digital collection. - War of 1812 Digital CollectionContent: Search portal containing historical documents and digital artifacts related to the war from Parks Canada, rare or unique books, maps, memoirs, military correspondence, and physical objects.
This open-access resource features War of 1812 material drawn from Early Canadiana Online, as well as items contributed by museums, archives, all levels of government, and the wider heritage community.
Date Coverage: 1812 to 1928
Full-text Availability: YesParks Canada has donated 41 digital artefacts.
- Last Updated: Nov 3, 2023 10:48 AM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/govcanfed
- Print Page