BUSN - ENTI 317
This research guide is designed to provide authoritative sources of information that will be helpful for your ENTI317 project.
What is Market Research
Market research is all about "discovering the size of the market for a particular brand or product" ("Marketing Research", 2009). Researchers often look at two main types of information resources:
1. Demographics and statistical data
2. Consumer trends and lifestyle reports
Marketing Research. (2009). In Law, J.(Ed.), A Dictionary of Business and Management (5th ed.). Retrieved 3 Aug. 2017, from http://www.oxfordreference.com/view/10.1093/acref/9780199234899.001.0001/acref-9780199234899-e-3966.
Market Research
-
Calgary Economic DevelopmentCurrent and forecast economic indicators, demographic data, and economic development strategy.
-
Calgary Community Profiles(Open Access)
Profiles cover: population, mobility,age, income, employment, family composition, social isolation, education, cultural diversity, housing. -
Alberta Office of Statistics and InformationA collection of statistical data for Alberta including population and demography, agriculture, construction, culture and leisure, education, energy, ethnic diversity, families, health, labour and more.
-
Statistics by Subject (Statistics Canada)Find Canadian statistics on a subject of interest. Includes subjects such as ethnic diversity, environment, seniors, culture & leisure, society & community, demographics, information & communications technology and more.
-
Consumer Lifestyle ReportsAccessed through the Passport database, these reports are country-specific and provide a detailed analysis of demographics and all aspects of consumer life in that country.
-
Canadian Megatrends (Statistics Canada)Statistics Canada analyzes historical data to highlight some of the sweeping changes that have had a lasting impact on Canadian society and economy.
-
DJS Research (formerly Market Research World)(Open Access)
This website includes a library of research articles, marketing research news, market research findings by industry sector, information on the market research process and conducting market research, analyzing statistics and survey data, a market research glossary and useful market research links.
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowTo find market research reports in Business Source Complete enter search terms, and then select "Market Research Reports" under "Publication Type".
-
ProQuest One Business (formerly ABI / Business Premium Collection) This link opens in a new windowIn addition to articles in scholarly, trade and popular publications, ABI Inform also provides other forms of business information including market research reports. After entering your search terms, use the “Document type” limiter to select “market research reports".
-
InFact / Conference Board of Canada This link opens in a new windowAccess the e-Library and then use the "Topic" link in the left sidebar to view a list of topics covered in the Conference Board of Canada database. Alternatively you may search by keyword for relevant reports.
-
ComScoreComScore provides in-depth analysis of the digital world. Includes a "Data mine" that provides data and analysis at the regional and country levels as well as by topic. The site is also searchable by keyword. The reports are free, but you need to provide some information via a form in order to access them.
-
Alternative market research methods : market sensing
by
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781317550389Publication Date: 2017 -
The Market Research Toolbox
by
Call Number: HF5415.2 .M383 2016ISBN: 9781452291581Publication Date: 2015-05-08