LAW Bankruptcy Law
This guide is intended to help researchers locate cases, legislation, commentary and databases on Bankruptcy Law.
Legal Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias are often a good starting point for your legal research, particularly when you're new to a topic, providing a brief introduction to the law, and giving references to leading cases and legislation. The following encyclopedic entries are useful with respect to Bankruptcy law.
Available in print in the Reference area at KE 173 .C54 and online in WestlawNext Canada:
Canadian Encyclopedic Digest:
- Bankruptcy and Insolvency
- Companies’ Creditors Arrangement Act
- Receivers
Available in print in the Reference area at KF385 .ZA2 H35 and online in Lexis Advance Quicklaw (UofC Law School access only)
Halbsury’s Laws of Canada:
- Bankruptcy and Insolvency
- Receivers and Other Court Officers
Select Books - Canada
- The annotated Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act : including General rules under the Act, Orderly Payment of Debts Regulations, Tariffs, Forms, Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act byCall Number: KF1536 .ZA2 H57Publication Date: 1993-Please find the latest version in the Reference section, and older editions on the 1st floor of the library.
Use this quick reference for immediate access to primary law and concise commentary on bankruptcy, insolvency and restructuring
The Annotated Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act is a condensed version of the five-volume classic Bankruptcy and Insolvency Law of Canada, 4th Edition. - Bankruptcy and insolvency law byCall Number: KF1536 .ZA2 W66 2015ISBN: 9781552214022Publication Date: 2015This book examines the legal framework that governs bankruptcy and insolvency law in Canada. It is organized in a way that illuminates the structure of insolvency law, its aims and objectives, and its foundational principles. This edition takes into account the recent caselaw on the extensive 2009 amendments to the federal insolvency statutes, and examines several new Supreme Court of Canada decisions. Additionally, new topics, such as the anti-deprivation principle in bankruptcy law and the use of arrangements by insolvent corporations, are introduced.
- Bankruptcy guide : personal and small business byCall Number: KF1524.6 .S35 2005ISBN: 155180638XPublication Date: 2005Earl Sands is a trustee in bankruptcy. He founded his bankruptcy firm in 1990. When he sold his practice in late 2001, his firm had six offices and was handling the largest number of personal bankruptcies and proposals in British Columbia. He contributed to the personal bankruptcy training course material that is studied by would-be trustees in bankruptcy.
- Bankruptcy in Canada byCall Number: KF1536 .ZA2 D8 2009ISBN: 9780888044914Publication Date: 2009The authors articulate not just the principles, but the history and adaptations underlying the principles, along with practical insight and guidance.
Rather than follow the Act section by section, the authors have gathered relevant elements by concept and theme. 
Bankruptcy reforms 2008 by Call Number: KF1536 .ZA2 B46 2008ISBN: 0779816927Publication Date: 2008On December 14, 2007, Bill C-12, an Act to amend the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA), the Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act (CCAA), the Wage Earner Protection Program Act and chapter 47 of the Statutes of Canada, 2005 received Royal Assent. The bill became chapter 36 of the Statutes of Canada, 2007. Chapter 36 means significant changes to the BIA, CCAA, role of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, trustees, receivers, monitors, and other stakeholders. This book provides an annotated statutory supplement for the key issues that are addressed in Chapter 36.
Canadian bankruptcy and insolvency law : cases, text and materials by Call Number: KF1536 .ZA2 Z53 2015ISBN: 9781552396414Publication Date: 2015Authored by leading experts from across the country, the third edition of Canadian Bankruptcy and Insolvency Law: Cases, Text, and Materials provides detailed and cutting edge commentary on all aspects of Canadian bankruptcy and insolvency law. The presentation of content fosters an appreciation for the intellectual, political, and practical importance of bankruptcy law, and the manner in which it permeates many aspects of modern corporate, commercial, and consumer law. In addition to providing students with an overview of the key issues in contemporary bankruptcy law, this casebook addresses the procedural aspects involved in different types of bankruptcy and insolvency proceedings, and their impact on debtors and creditors.
Law of bankruptcy and insolvency in Canada by Call Number: KF1536 .ZA2 S24ISBN: 0433450878Publication Date: 2005This publication provides topical analysis of the Canadian law relating to bankruptcy and insolvency under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA). Author Lazar Sarna provides practice-oriented coverage of topics including issues relating to the roles of trustees, orders and assignments, corporations and bankruptcy, property of the estate, creditors claims, and remedies and procedures. The service also contains related statutes, regulations, and Superintendent of Bankruptcy directives.
Baird's practical guide to the Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act by Call Number: KF1544 .B35 2009ISBN: 0779822455Publication Date: 2009
Select Books - Provinces
Bankruptcy by Call Number: KF1536 .ZA3 B36 2014ISBN: 9781550935066Publication Date: 2014Legal Education Society of Alberta materials.
Debt recovery in Alberta by Call Number: KF1536 .ZA3 D86 2012ISBN: 9780779838448Publication Date: 2012This book is designed to provide a thorough examination of the practical and conceptual implications of the Civil Enforcement Act and related legislation, to describe, criticize and synthesize the case law addressing Alberta's reinvented system of judgment enforcement law and to highlight aspects of that system warranting reconsideration or amendment.
Remedies in insolvency & bankruptcy : Calgary, Alberta, April 6, 2000; Edmonton, Alberta, April 13, 2000 by Call Number: KF9010 .A75 R475 2000ISBN: 1550931733Publication Date: 2000Legal Education Society of Alberta materials.
Back from the brink : insolvency in the new era by Call Number: KF1501 .ZA2 B33 2011ISBN: 9781554342419Publication Date: 2011Collection of lectures regarding bankruptcy and insolvency in Manitoba. Topics include: agricultural insolvency, farm protection, equipment lessors, and business restructuring.
Main legal article databases
- WestlawNext Canada(U of C access only) Includes Canadian and foreign law journal articles and indexes. Westlaw includes nearly 15,000 databases and over 700 full text law reviews.
- HeinOnline(U of C access only) HeinOnline provides full text access to legal journals, from the first volume of most titles in pdf.
- LegalTrac(U of C access only) Provides coverage of approximately 900 legal publications, including all major law reviews, 7 legal newspapers, law specialty publications and bar association journals. Includes law related articles from more than 1000 additional business and general interest periodicals, as well as major legal publications from other English speaking countries.
Related Subject Headings
Additional resources, mainly print, may be found by browsing the following subject headings: