History

The official archives of the Christian and Missionary Alliance in Canada (CMAC), the Church of the Nazarene Canada,

Resources documenting Calgary, Southern Alberta, and Western Canada are located on the 4th level of the Central Library.

With over 850 metres of documents, photographs, audio-visual and sound recordings generated by the Law Society of Alberta, and the legal and judicial communities throughout the province, LASA’s archival holdings represent the most extensive, authoritative evidence of the history of the legal profession in Alberta.

Records and publications relating to the history of Mount Royal University, as well as other teaching and research collections that support curriculum and courses.

The SAIT Archives works to acquire, preserve and make accessible records of the institution as well as records of student organizations, former instructors and history of the institutions as documented by students.

The Gerry and Anna Maier Special Collections Reading Room is a non-circulating collection of published materials that are rare, valuable or which have notable cultural and historical significance.

Alberta on Record, from the Archives Society of Alberta, gives access to collections preserved in many archives throughout the province. You can search thousands of descriptions of archival records, photographs, and textual records held in Alberta's archives. The database also hosts records from Yukon archival collections.

Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.

From the University of Alberta, Bruce Peel Special Collections houses a world-class collection of more than 100,000 rare books and a significant collection of archival materials that explore a range of local and international subjects.

Canadian Pacific Archives contains documentation, images and artifacts pertaining to the history of the company from its incorporation to recent years.

Digital archives of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) featuring multimedia clips from notable events, interviews, etc.

The Hudson's Bay Company Archives acquires and preserves archival records of HBC and other records related to HBC history, such as private records and subsidiary companies (including the North West Company), and encourages the use and understanding of these records. Search tools include the Keystone Archives Descriptive Database, Biographical Information Sheets, Post maps, and Name Indexes. This is a valuable tool in conducting genealogical research as it often includes the biographical records of Métis individuals, dating as far back as the 18th century.

With over 850 metres of documents, photographs, audio-visual and sound recordings generated by the Law Society of Alberta, and the legal and judicial communities throughout the province, LASA’s archival holdings represent the most extensive, authoritative evidence of the history of the legal profession in Alberta.

Library and Archives Canada’s (LAC) collection is the shared documentary heritage of all Canadians and spans the entire history of our country. The collection contains materials in all types of formats from across Canada and around the world that are of interest to Canadians. This is an excellent place to start searching for Canadian-focused primary sources.

Located in Edmonton, the Provincial Archives of Alberta (PAA) acquires, preserves and publicly makes available records from government, individual people and organizations for researchers of all ages.

The University of Alberta Archives (UAA) is the official repository for the permanently valuable records of the University of Alberta and its affiliated institutions.