German Studies

The guide serves as a key information resource and is customized to support the teaching, research and scholarship for students and scholars of German language and literature

Key Databases

Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics, as well as various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft
Special collection library for German language and literature. It is one of the most important bibliographic information source for German literature with a focus on literature.
MLA International Bibliography
The database includes books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA).
JSTOR
Shared digital library which includes over 2,300 academic journals (dating back to the first volume ever published), along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education.
Historical Abstracts
The database includes more than 2,300 academic historical journals in addition to books, conference proceedings and dissertations in over 40 languages; coverage dates from the fifteenth century onward.