Spanish Studies
This guide provides selected resources available to you through UCalgary Library and the Internet
The Spanish collection at the University of Calgary supports the teaching and research needs of all students & faculty. The book collection is located on the fifth & sixth floor of the Taylor Family Digital Library.
Key Resources
- HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)Infomation about South and Central America, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the United States. Coverage is from 1970 to the present.
- MLA International BibliographyThe MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior AbstractsCovers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics, as well as various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Key Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Collins Spanish Dictionary by First published in 1971, the Collins Spanish Dictionary pioneered a new approach to bilingual dictionary publishing which continues to inspire millions of language users today. With wide-ranging coverage of contemporary Spanish and English, a wealth of examples and idioms, and a clear colour layout, this remains the ideal dictionary for advanced learners and professionals using Spanish.Compact Oxford Spanish Dictionary by
ISBN: 9780199663309The Compact Oxford Spanish Dictionary offers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 120,000 translations of contemporary Spanish and English.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture by ISBN: 9780203014387Some 750 alphabetically-arranged entries provide insights into recent cultural and political developments within Spain, including the cultures of Catalonia, Galicia and the Basque country. Coverage spans from the end of the Civil War in 1939 to the present day, with emphasis on the changes following the demise of the Franco dictatorship in 1975.
World Literature in Spanish by ISBN: 9780313337703Containing roughly 850 entries about Spanish-language literature throughout the world, this expansive work provides coverage of the varied countries, ethnicities, time periods, literary movements, and genres of these writings.