This guide provides selected resources available to you through UCalgary Library and the Internet
- Collins Spanish Dictionary by Collins DictionariesFirst published in 1971, the Collins Spanish Dictionary pioneered a new approach to bilingual dictionary publishing which continues to inspire millions of language users today. With wide-ranging coverage of contemporary Spanish and English, a wealth of examples and idioms, and a clear colour layout, this remains the ideal dictionary for advanced learners and professionals using Spanish.
- Oxford Business Spanish Dictionary: English-Spanish by Edited by Sinda López and Donald WattISBN: 9780191727290Essential vocabulary, clear translations, usage and grammar help in this English-Spanish dictionary.
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture by Eamonn Rodgers (Editor)ISBN: 9780203014387Some 750 alphabetically-arranged entries provide insights into recent cultural and political developments within Spain, including the cultures of Catalonia, Galicia and the Basque country. Coverage spans from the end of the Civil War in 1939 to the present day, with emphasis on the changes following the demise of the Franco dictatorship in 1975.
- Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature by Daniel Balderston; Mike GonzalezISBN: 9780203316115The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.
On the shelves
- Enciclopedia de Lingüística Hispánica by Javier Gutiérrez-RexachISBN: 9781138941380This two-volume Enciclopedia de Lingüística Hispánica provides comprehensive coverage of the major and subsidiary fields of Hispanic Linguistics.
- World Literature in Spanish by Maureen Ihrie (Editor); Salvador Oropesa (Editor)ISBN: 9780313337703Containing roughly 850 entries about Spanish-language literature throughout the world, this expansive work provides coverage of the varied countries, ethnicities, time periods, literary movements, and genres of these writings.
- Conflict in the Early Americas by Rebecca M. Seaman (Editor)ISBN: 9781598847765This detailed study is the only reference work of its kind to address Spain's conquest of Central and South America, providing in-depth coverage of native and European ideologies, political motivations, and cultural practices of the region.
- The Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature by Janet Perez; Maureen IhrieISBN: 0313293465Spanish literature includes some of the world's greatest works and authors. It is also one of the most widely studied. This reference looks at the literature of Spain from the perspective of women's studies.
- Compact Oxford Spanish Dictionary by Oxford Dictionaries Staff (Editor)ISBN: 9780199663309The Compact Oxford Spanish Dictionary offers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 120,000 translations of contemporary Spanish and English.
Books from other Libraries
If you can't find the book you are looking for please check the collection of other institutions around Canada on WorldCat.org. UCalgary Library is providing an InterLibrary Loan Service for faculty, students and staff. It is free and usually takes not longer then a couple of days until the pdf-document or book arrives.
- Last Updated: Feb 21, 2020 10:11 AM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/spanish
- Print Page