North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) (Open Access)
The NAICS is an industry classification system common to Canada, the United States and Mexico. You may search by keyword or industry code. Also available in print: HF1044 .C3 N67
How the NAICS classification works.
Mergent Online (U of C authentication is required off-campus)
Mergent Industry Reports provide in-depth analysis of industries covering North America, Latin America, Asia/Pacific, and Europe by country and region.
How to: Find industry reports in Mergent
Business Source Complete Industry Profiles (Datamonitor, Marketline, Barnes Reports) (U of C authentication is required off-campus)
Enter an industry or company in the search box and when result list displays, use the left hand navigation area: "Source Types" to select "Industry Profiles". These profiles cover country-specific and global industry overviews.
How to: Find industry reports in Business Source Complete
IBISWorld USA (U of C authentication is required off-campus)
A comprehensive collection of industry market research reports. Industry profiles include industry performance, industry outlook, industry life cycle, products and markets, operating conditions, statistics and more.
How to: Find industry reports in IBISWorld
Passport GMID (Euromonitor International) (U of C authentication is required on and off-campus)
Provides key business intelligence on countries, companies, industries, markets and consumers. The database provides statistics, reports and analysis. Search by keyword(s) or by drilling down through industries, geographies etc. Also look at Passport Industrial Canada which provides over 150 Canadian industry reports - click on the "Industries" tab, then select "Industrial" >> use the "Analysis Finder" to select "Country Reports" and geography: "Canada".
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage Industry Surveys (Available only in the Business Library in print and electronic formats)
Use the "Industries" tab to access North American industry analyses that discuss the current environment, industry profile, industry trends, how the industry operates, key industry ratios and more. Also provides sub-industry reports.
How to: Find industry reports in NetAdvantage
Almanac of business and industrial financial ratios (Available in print only in the Business Library Reference Collection HF5681 .R25 A13)
Provides industry ratios and financial data arranged by North American Industry Classification System industry codes and asset size range. Data is based on both private and public companies in North America.
Libraries & Cultural Resources
University of Calgary
410 University Court NW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Copyright © 2012