Religious Studies

The Library Search Box is a great resource for locating encyclopedia articles.  Just limit your search results to Item Type "Reference Entries"

Other Tools to cross search many references works at once:

Credo Reference  - allows you to quickly search over 500 reference works including Gale Virtual Reference Library as well as a large number of databases for journal articles and books on your topic

Brill Online Reference - search all the Brill encyclopedias that the University of Calgary subscribes to.

Gale Virtual Reference Library -  includes many subject encyclopedias such as the Encyclopedia of Religion

Gale World History in Context -  Links to encyclopedia entries,  journal articles, primary sources, images etc.  Covers religious history and has specific sections for religion including:  Buddhism, Christianity,  Hinduism,  Islam, Judaism,  and Taoism

Oxford Reference -  limiting to unlocked and free will ensure that material retrieved are items that you have access to. Otherwise will retrieve articles from all Oxford encyclopedias and dictionaries, many of which we do not have access to.

Core:

• Encyclopedia of Religion (15 vols) - key tool
• Brill Dictionary of Religion (4 vols)
• Encyclopaedia of Religion and Ethics (12 vols)
  Call Number: BL31 .E43 | Location
  - Focuses on the theologies and philosophies of religion and ethics, produced in 1905
  - Use index volume to help locate which articles treat your topic 
  -  Also available digitally  in the Internet Archive

Other Examples:

• Critical Terms for Religious Studies
• Encyclopedia of Millennialism and Millennial Movements
• Encyclopedia of Science and Religion - "Addresses the interactions, contradictions, and tensions between science and religion, both historically and in contemporary life. The set examines technologies like in vitro fertilization, cloning, and continuing developments in neurophysiology against the backdrop of deeply-held religious beliefs. In addition, phenomena such as the Church of Scientology are also studied, along with more traditional issues, such as the origins of life, the nature of sin, and the philosophy of science and religion."
• Encyclopedia of World Scriptures
  Call Number: BL 70 .S56 2001 | Location
• Encyclopedic Dictionary of Religion (3 vols)
  Call Number: BL31 .E57 | Location
  - 3 volumes
  - Good for biographical information. Brief articles
• Historical Dictionary of Sacred Music - covers Buddhism,  Christianity, Hinduism,  Islam and Judaism -  Extensive bibliographies
• Melton's  Encyclopedia of American Religions
  Call Number: BL2525 .M449 2017 | Location
• Encyclopedia of Sacred Places

• Dictionary of Canadian Biography
• Dictionary of Oriental Literatures (3 vols)
  - Call Number: PJ 31 .D52 1974 | Location
• Dictionary of the Middle Ages (13 vols)
  - also available in print: Call Number: D 114 D53 1982 | Location
  - covers 500 to 1500 CE
• GroveArt (Grove Dictionary of Art )
• International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
  - excellent extensive articles on a variety of aspects of religious studies
• Literature Resource Center
  - lists of author's works, overview of author's life and work and lists of biographical critical sources.
  - includes some fulltext for the critical sources
• Man, Myth and Magic : an illustrated encylopedia of the supernatural
  Call Number: BF 1411 .M25 1995 | Location
• New Dictionary of the History of Ideas - 6 vols - "present cross-cultural perspectives on more recent topics such as postmodernism, deconstruction and post-colonialism."
• Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy