University of Calgary Theses and Dissertations
University of Calgary Theses Database - collection of theses and dissertation from graduates of the University of Calgary - Contact University Archives if you are unable to locate a University of Calgary thesis
University of Calgary Library Collection - while a copy of all U of C theses is located in the University Archives or in the digital collection on PRISM, for many older theses a second copy is held in the library collection. Filter search results to Item Type " Thesis"
Theses and Dissertations: Religious Studies
Key tool for locating theses and dissertations is ProQuest Dissertations and Theses ( full text electronic access to many theses published since the 1990’s, and a select number from earlier years).
Resources focussed on listing Religious Studies theses include :
American Journal of Islamic Social Studies (BP 1 .A48) - each issues contains a section listing Doctoral Dissertations - the citations and abstracts are taken from ProQuest Dissertations and Theses.
Call Number: BP 1 .A48 Location
Elenchus of Biblica - lists works (including theses) on Biblical Studies
Call Number: BS 410 .E52 Location - Library holds up up 2011
Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses - its annual bibliography Elenchus Bibliographicus listed material (including theses) on Biblical Studies, Religious History, Canon Studies and Theology.
- also available in print: Call Number: BS410 .E642 Location. NOTE: Elenchus Bibliographicus is no longer available
Religious Studies Review - 1976 - 1993 contains sections "Recent Dissertations in Religion" and "Dissertations in Progress"
- also available in print:
Revue theologique de Louvain - each issue has a section " Dissertations doctorales en theologie"
RIM (Research in Ministry) - " is a freely available database that indexes DMin and DMiss projects from reporting schools of theology accredited by the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada. Indexing began in 1981."
TREN: Theological Research Exchange Network - a library of over 12,000 theological theses/dissertation titles representing research from as many as 70 different institutions. Fulltext of theses may be ordered directly on the site.
Other Sources for Theses and Dissertations
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations - indexes almost 5 million theses both open access and restricted
ETD - Electronic Theses Worldwide - freely available dissertations
Centre for Research Libraries – search in the catalogue and then limit your results to theses. Searches a collection of over 20,000 doctoral dissertations from outside Canada and the U.S. Items in this database may be obtained by interlibrary loan through U of C’s Document Delivery Services.
PhD Data.org - doctoral dissertations in progress
Worldcat - Change " Subtype limits" for "any content" to " Thesis/Dissertation". Note: Some results may be later edited publications of original dissertations. Note you can also use Worldcat.org which allows you to limit results to dissertations but record information is not as detailed
Resources for locating theses and dissertations from specific countries or regions:
Australia - Trove (National Library of Australia) - in advanced search you can limit type to thesis
Austria - Austrian dissertations database
Brazil - BDTD (Biblioteca Digial de Teses e Dissertacoes) - Theses and dissertations from Brazilian universities
Britain - British Library EthOS - provides free access to many British dissertations
Canada - Library and Archives Canada Theses Portal – provides access to the National Library of Canada theses collection, 1965 - over 300,000 theses with over 50,000 available in fulltext
Germany - German National Library
France - Thèses - French Doctoral theses since 1985, includes theses in progress
France - Sudoc
India - Union Database of Theses
- Shodhganga - Indian Electronic Theses and Dissertations
Italy - Pleiadi - database of material held in repositories in Italy including dissertations
Mexico - Tesis UNAM
Netherlands - NARCIS - Theses and dissertations and research publications from the Netherlands
Portugal - RCAAP - union catalog of digital content from over 30 institutions in Portugal.
Scandinavia - DIVA - Theses and Dissertations and research publications from 26 institutions in Scandinavia.
South Africa - National ETD Portal - Metadata for all theses and dissertations produced in South Africa
Spain - Spain's Ministry of Education Thesis Database(Teseo)
Spain - Universidad Complutense Madrid
Spain - Dialnet - index to Spanish theses, provides fulltext access for many works
Spain - TDX (Tesis Doctorals en Xarxa) - over 58,000 thesis - almost half with full-text
Sweden - Dissertations.se - search over 26,000 Englisn-language Swedish dissertations - many are available fulltext
Switzerland - Swiss National Library
- Last Updated: May 17, 2023 12:00 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/religion
- Print Page