Economics
Books, databases, articles, economic indicators, organizations and more about the field of economics
International Trade
- Economic IndicatorsThis research guide provides sources for economic indicators for Calgary, Alberta, Canada and International jurisdictions.
- World Integrated Trade Solution (World Bank)Find countries' exports, imports and tariff statistics along with relevant development data.
- World Trade Organization (WTO)The WTO is a place where member governments try to sort out the trade problems they face with each other.
- Economic Outlook (Deloitte)Find reports and commentary on consumer confidence, deflation, the business cycle and other issues related to economics. Includes quarterly global and regional economic outlooks and market reviews.
- Global Affairs CanadaThe “Trade - Opening new markets" page provides information on doing business abroad, trade negotiations and agreements, and export and import regulations. Information by region is found in the "Countries and Regions" area. The “Foreign Policy” link provides information about Canada’s role in the world, Canada's relations with other countries and other important global issues.
- Canadian Trade CommissionerThis organization provides support for enterprises wishing to export to foreign countries or import to Canada.
"Market Reports" provide information by industry sector or country/region. - Federation of International Trade AssociationsA searchable collection of international trade web resources covering all major topics of international trade. Easy to navigate as resources are grouped by topic.
- U.S. Census Bureau Foreign Trade(Open Access)
Find U.S. import or export statistics, information on export regulations, commodity classifications, or other trade related topics. - IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook-- evaluation and ranking of the world’s most competitive economies
-- 2016 edition available in print at the High Density Library (HF1 .W67)
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
- IMF eLibrary data This link opens in a new windowThe International Monetary Fund publishes a range of time series data related to IMF lending, exchange rates, and economic and financial indicators for well over 200 countries. Searching this database gives you access to all IMF data sources including: International Financial Statistics.
- Canadian International Council"The Canadian International Council (CIC) is Canada’s foreign relations council. It is an independent, member-based council established to strengthen Canada’s role in international affairs. The CIC reflects the ideas and interests of a broad constituency of Canadians who believe that a country’s foreign policy is not an esoteric concern of experts but directly affects the lives and prosperity of its citizens."
- Taxation and Investment Guides and Country Highlights (Deloitte)(Open Access)
Summarizes tax and investment regimes and provides excellent business guides for more than 100 jurisdictions around the world. - Statistics Canada - International TradeFind statistical information on international markets, price trends, foreign exchange policies, imports, exports, foreign investment etc.
- Frederico-Tena World Trade Historical DatabaseThis database is hosted by the University of Madrid and contains historical world trade data from 1800- 1938.
- Transparency InternationalA source for information on corruption. Includes the Corruption perceptions index, Global Corruption Report, the annual Global Corruption Barometer, information on bribery by suppliers, country and regional reports, working papers and more.