LAW Indigenous Peoples & the Law
Subject Heading Suggestions
As with any topic, there is a need to be mindful of terminology. Subject headings you may wish to search by subject in the library catalogue and databases include:
- Aboriginal
- Indigenous Peoples
- Native
- Native Peoples
- Indian
- First Nations
- Métis
- Inuit
- Innu
- Indians of Central America
- Indians of North America
- Indians of South America
- Amerindian
- Eskimo
- Tribal Peoples
- names of individual nations or tribes
-
Other country-specific terms
-
Australia: Aborigine
-
United States: Eskimo
-
Most books on Indigenous Peoples and the Law, previously known as Aboriginal Law, will be located in the Bennett Jones Law Library but other books on issues related to Indigenous peoples can be found throughout Libraries and Cultural Resources at the University of Calgary.
Legal Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia provide a brief discussion of a wide range of legal topics, with many footnotes referencing cases and some statutes. There are two Canadian legal encyclopedias: the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest and Halsbury’s Laws of Canada.
- Canadian Encyclopedic DigestElectronic access available through WestlawNext Canada. Available in print in the Reference area at KE 173 .C54.
Selected Titles in the Bennett Jones Law Library
Aboriginal & treaty rights practice by Call Number: KF8203.4 .M33 (Online version available from Thomson ProView)ISBN: 0459240188Loose leaf - current subscription.
Native law by Call Number: KF8205 .W653 1990 (Online version available from Thomson ProView)ISBN: 0459332716Publication Date: 1990Loose leaf - current subscription. Includes bibliographical references and index.
Aboriginal legal issues : cases, materials & commentary by Call Number: KF8205 .B67 2018ISBN: 9780433491644Publication Date: 2018Includes bibliographical references and index.
Aboriginal Law Commentary and Analysis by Call Number: KF8204 .I83 2016ISBN: 9780779872534Publication Date: 2016- Aboriginal law since Delgamuukw byCall Number: KF8210 .C63 A26 2009ISBN: 9780888044860Publication Date: 2009
Indigenous Peoples, Postcolonialism, and International Law by Call Number: K3247 .R63 2006ISBN: 0199284644Publication Date: 2006
Indigenous difference and the Constitution of Canada by Call Number: E92 .M27 2001ISBN: 0802041957Publication Date: 2001
Returning to the teachings : exploring aboriginal justice by Call Number: KF8220 .R67 1996ISBN: 0140258701Publication Date: 1996
Selected Electronic Books
Aboriginal Title by Call Number: K738 INTERNETISBN: 9780199699414Publication Date: 2011Also available in print K3247 .M34 2011
Métis-Crown relations : rights, identity, jurisdiction and governance by Call Number: FC125 INTERNETISBN: 1552211584Publication Date: 2008
Kiumajut (talking back) : game management and Inuit rights, 1900-70 by Call Number: E99 .E7 INTERNETISBN: 9780774812412Publication Date: 2007
Fish, Law, and Colonialism by Call Number: KF8210 .H85 INTERNETISBN: 0802035981Publication Date: 2001Also available in print KF8210 .H85 H37 2001
Collections of Electronic Books and Policy Documents
Many Canadian e-books can be found related to Indigenous Peoples and the Law beyond the library search box. The Government of Canada has a growing database of archived publications, formerly from the federal government’s library depository program.
- Government of Canada Publications (formerly E-Collection)The Canadian Public Policy Collection is part of the Canadian Electronic Library. This database includes a number of government and public policy documents as well as a number of Canadian University Press publications.
- Canada Commons This link opens in a new window
Articles
Journal articles provide in-depth information on narrow legal topics and, often, more current information than books provide. There are several ways of search for legal articles. The library search box and Google Scholar can both be used to find some articles. We subscribe to several databases that contain the full-text of law review articles from Canada, the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia and other countries
See our research guide for links to open access and database sources for legal articles.
- Finding Law Journal ArticlesThis guide is intended to help students and researchers in law by leading to information sources that will assist in finding articles.
There are also general full text sources that may provide legal articles.
Some sources may be restricted to University of Calgary users or to Faculty of Law users.
- Library Search BoxSearch many of our databases and collections as well as from traditional bibliographic sources (journal articles, dissertations, newspapers, etc.). It does not search legal databases.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowTo set up Google Scholar to detect UofC subscribed resources, refer to Google Scholar setup (in the Natural Sciences Programme LibGuide)