Air Photo Search Guide

SANDS Digitized Air Photo Collections and Applications

There are two main digital collections for SANDS air photos, the Alberta Air Photos Digital Collection and the MachAir Oblique Air Photos of Calgary 1970s collection. Renna Truong at SANDS has created two applications to make discovering the photos in these collections easier. Learn more about the collections below and check out the applications for each. Directions for how to use the apps will appear on the landing screen for each.

Air Photos in UCalgary Digital Collections

Alberta Air Photos Collection 1922-1956 consists of about 32,000 copyright-cleared images from the University of Calgary Library's collection of about one million air photos. For each air photo image in this collection, there is an associated descriptive record, which provides the photo number, year, scale, possible geographic locators, and other information. You can browse our digitized air photos in our UCalgary Digital Collections. Air photos are organized by flight line and include an index. You can also use the Air Photo Digital Collection - Alberta application to browse part of this collection. Select the photo centre to view the photo in our digital collections.

MachAir Oblique Air Photos of Calgary 1970s Collection

Oblique photos of Calgary were flown by MachAir Surveys in the 1970s. Images where scanned from original negatives and are available for discovery and download via the Oblique Photos of Calgary 1970s application or from the links below. The list also indicates an approximate photo location by city quadrant, Calgary community, view direction and prominent features. Copyright is held by Spatial and Numeric Data Services.