Newspapers & News Media
Guide to current and historical news sources, Canadian and worldwide.
Finding International News
This page is meant to list news sources and databases that are beyond Canada, US and UK, to give a starting point for world news. It is not meant to be comprehensive.
Current International Newspapers
The most comprehensive library database to start your international newspaper search is Factiva. Click on the specific page on this guide to use this resource under "Specific Databases."
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowProvides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.
- Due to license restrictions, access is limited to 6 simultaneous users.
- Interface in English, German, French or Chinese; contents in 22 languages.
- ProQuest One Business (formerly ABI / Business Premium Collection) This link opens in a new windowProQuest One Business is an intuitive and comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. Designed to help business researchers balance theoretical and practical learning, and acquire research skills that will make them successful in their courses and careers. ProQuest One Business content includes: company, industry, and country reports from providers such as Fitch Solutions and Economist Intelligence Unit, and in-depth analyst reports from J.P. Morgan; scholarly journals and ebook coverage from hundreds of publishers; full text of the three major global business news sources: The Wall Street Journal, the Economist, and the Financial Times; and a robust collection of videos.
- Al Jazeeranews analysis from the Middle East
- China dailyEnglish-language daily newspaper owned by the Publicity Department of the Communist Party of China and published in the People's Republic of China.
- Euro newsLatest breaking news from Europe
- RTRT network, a global multilingual television news network based in Moscow, Russia, and funded by the Russian government.
- Reutersworld news
- Zona LatinaNews sources from Latin America
Historical International Newspapers
The best library database to find international historical newspapers is the Centre for Research Libraries (CRL). Click on the specific page on this guide for detailed information. The CRL has many digitized newspapers, but even more on microformat that you can request through Inter-Library Loan. Please see the guide for details.
- CRL library catalog This link opens in a new window
- Access digitized content directly through CRL online catalog request other material through UofC Interlibrary Loans
Membership in Center for Research Libraries provides access to a wide range of uncommon materials, with a focus on news, law and government, finance, the history of science, technology and engineering, and the history and economics of agriculture. The approximately five million newspapers, journals, books, pamphlets, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other resources held by CRL support original research and teaching. CRL holdings include materials from all world regions: Sub-Saharan Africa, Latin America, the Middle East, Central, South and Southeast Asia, North America, and Europe. While these shared collections are largely paper and microform, CRL provides online access to a continually expanding body of digital materials. CRL digital collections of primary source materials support research and teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
The library subscribes to many digital historical international newspapers. To find a current list, visit the library databases page and search by country name. Here is a list of other database sources.
- Paperofrecord.com This link opens in a new windowPaper of Record is an historical archive of full-page newspaper images that you can search for unique coverage of past events in the UK, the USA, Australia, the Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Ecuador, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, and Mexico. The archive is created from newspaper collections on microfilm, preserving the original format of the paper.
- NewspapersTo find the newspaper databases, select the all database types dropdown and click on Newspapers. Read the database descriptions carefully in order to select the appropriate source. Note that some databases are historical and some are current
The library collection includes many newspapers on microformat.
- Trove - from the National Library of AustraliaDigital Newspapers and Gazettes
Here's a list of specific historical international newspapers.
- Pravda1912 - 2009. Pravda (or “Truth”) was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Russia, Pravda originated as an underground, daily workers’ newspaper, and soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement.
- Russian National Bibliography This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive bibliography of Russian printed works providing access to books, newspapers, journals, book criticism and reviews, the arts, sheet music, dissertations and maps.
- Google news archiveSearches content from a number of sources, including both partner content digitized by Google through their News Archive Partner Program and online archival materials that they've crawled
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) daily reports This link opens in a new windowFBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world . "The United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence"--Readex.
- Nouveautés Presse et revuesHistorical French newspapers available in Gallica, the Bibliotheque National de France digital library.
- Last Updated: Apr 12, 2024 1:18 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/news
- Print Page