Newspapers & News Media

• Access digitized content directly through CRL online catalog request other material through UofC Interlibrary Loans

Membership in Center for Research Libraries provides access to a wide range of uncommon materials, with a focus on news, law and government, finance, the history of science, technology and engineering, and the history and economics of agriculture. The approximately five million newspapers, journals, books, pamphlets, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other resources held by CRL support original research and teaching. CRL holdings include materials from all world regions: Sub-Saharan Africa, Latin America, the Middle East, Central, South and Southeast Asia, North America, and Europe. While these shared collections are largely paper and microform, CRL provides online access to a continually expanding body of digital materials. CRL digital collections of primary source materials support research and teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.

Gale Primary Sources is a universal research experience that combines Gale's acclaimed digital archives in a single cross-search interface. This powerful platform greatly enhances the research experience for students and researchers by broadening their discovery of primary source documents through the use of multiple search options and research tools. The Gale Primary Sources cross-search interface provides access to millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions. Users can explore a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more. As Gale continues to create additional digital archives, we will automatically add the content to the Gale Primary Sources cross-search experience.

Paper of Record is an historical archive of full-page newspaper images that you can search for unique coverage of past events in the UK, the USA, Australia, the Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Ecuador, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, and Mexico. The archive is created from newspaper collections on microfilm, preserving the original format of the paper.

The Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection represents the largest single collection of seventeenth and eighteenth century English news media available from the British Library and includes more than 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period. This collection helps researchers chart the development of the newspaper as we now know it, beginning with irregularly published transcriptions of Parliamentary debates and proclamations to coffee house newsbooks, finally arriving at newspaper in its current form. Gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817), this collection covers more than two hundred years of accounts, explanations, and points of views. More than 700 bound volumes of newspapers relate political, educational and economic situations chosen from more than three dozen cities—including English provincial, Irish, Scottish and a handful of papers from British colonies, in the Americas and Asia. These rare and restricted documents are now available online and students and academics can conduct full-text searches of nearly 1 million pages from approximately 1,270 titles spanning from Parliamentary papers and the London daily news to the latest English humor of the 1600s.

The British Library Newspapers collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.

• Newspaper images can be magnified for easier reading or reduced for on screen navigation. You can save and print article images, create persistent links and email them to others. When trying to print entire newspaper pages, you will need to tile them to make them legible given the differing paper size between newsprint and common office paper sizes.

The Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004 presents a digital collection with full-text articles and images of every issue of the Daily Mail from cover to cover, including news covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment; editorials; letters to the editor; movie and theatre reviews; birth, death and marriage notices; historical photographs; comic strips; classified advertising; and Special Issues. Also included is the Daily Mail Atlantic Edition, which was published on board the cruise ships that sailed between New York and Southampton between 1923 and 1931.

The Financial Times began as a City of London news sheet and grew to become one of the best-known and most-respected newspapers in the world. Along the way, the Financial Times—printed on its distinctive salmon-colored paper—has chronicled the critical financial and economic events that shaped the world, from the late nineteenth and entire twentieth centuries to today. This historical archive is a comprehensive research tool for those studying economic and business history and current affairs of the last 120 years. An online, fully searchable facsimile, Gale's Financial Times Historical Archive delivers a near-complete run of the London edition of this internationally known daily paper, from its first issue through 2010 (part 1), 2016 (part 2), and 2021 (part 3). Every article, advertisement, and market listing is included—shown both individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day.

Searchable database of the entire run of The independent, a British daily newspaper, from 1986 to the currenly indexed year.

Launched in 1855, the Telegraph was the first daily morning paper. By 1876, the Telegraph was the largest-selling newspaper in the world, with a circulation of 300,000. Under the editorship of poet and Orientalist Edwin Arnold from 1873 to 1899, the newspaper published widely on foreign affairs and foreign cultures. Its dedication to foreign news coverage was evidenced by its employment of several renowned special correspondents over the years; Winston Churchill, who reported from India in 1897, Rudyard Kipling, who braved the trenches of the First World War, and Clare Hollingworth, who, as the first female war correspondent, relayed the start of the Second World War from Poland. During the twentieth century, the Telegraph cemented its reputation as a pioneering yet reliable source of news reporting. The newspaper's commitment to lively copy was matched by its desire to position itself at the forefront of journalistic innovation; it published the first crossword to appear in a newspaper in 1925, the first television column in 1935, and became the first British newspaper to launch a website in 1994. The publication of the Telegraph is generally seen by press historians as the start of a new era of journalism that emerged following the repeal of the stamp duty, marking the first step towards the mass-market journalism of the Daily Mail. The Telegraph Historical Archive has over 1 million pages of content and includes the Sunday edition from its inception in 1961. The archive offers a fundamental insight into domestic and international affairs and culture over a timespan of almost 150 years.

The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context. Read by both world leaders and the general public, The Times has offered readers in-depth, award-winning, objective coverage of world events since its creation in 1785 and is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication. With over 12 million articles available, the archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest, including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy, along with coverage of all major international historical events. All articles included in The Times Digital Archive are displayed as digital page images and all allow full-text searching. These digitized pages, also known as facsimile images, let you view the pages as they originally appeared in print.

Boasting some 3.5 million articles and more than 800,000 digitized pages, The Sunday Times Historical Archive is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers, and culture of the last two centuries. This archive is an important resource for the humanities and social sciences, especially in history, media studies, journalism, literature, cultural studies, politics, and theater. The collection is also a valuable resource for family history and genealogy.

Launched in 1855, the Telegraph was the first daily morning paper. By 1876, the Telegraph was the largest-selling newspaper in the world, with a circulation of 300,000. Under the editorship of poet and Orientalist Edwin Arnold from 1873 to 1899, the newspaper published widely on foreign affairs and foreign cultures. Its dedication to foreign news coverage was evidenced by its employment of several renowned special correspondents over the years; Winston Churchill, who reported from India in 1897, Rudyard Kipling, who braved the trenches of the First World War, and Clare Hollingworth, who, as the first female war correspondent, relayed the start of the Second World War from Poland. During the twentieth century, the Telegraph cemented its reputation as a pioneering yet reliable source of news reporting. The newspaper's commitment to lively copy was matched by its desire to position itself at the forefront of journalistic innovation; it published the first crossword to appear in a newspaper in 1925, the first television column in 1935, and became the first British newspaper to launch a website in 1994. The publication of the Telegraph is generally seen by press historians as the start of a new era of journalism that emerged following the repeal of the stamp duty, marking the first step towards the mass-market journalism of the Daily Mail. The Telegraph Historical Archive has over 1 million pages of content and includes the Sunday edition from its inception in 1961. The archive offers a fundamental insight into domestic and international affairs and culture over a timespan of almost 150 years.

The Economist Historical Archive features more than 8,000 issues of The Economist since first publication in 1843. The Economist presents the worlds political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural developments and the connections between them. Full-color images, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue - all combine to offer a unique primary source covering the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

From 1841 to 1992 Punch was the world's most celebrated magazine of humour and satire. From its early years as a campaigner for social justice to its transformation into national icon, Punch played a central role in the formation of British identity - and how the rest of the world saw the British. The Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992 includes the complete run of the weekly magazine, as well as its annual Almanack, seasonal issues, and indexes. The archive also correlates the previously anonymous articles and those written under pseudonyms with the private ledgers of contributors kept by the Punch editors, in many cases revealing for the first time the true identity of the authors.