Newspapers & News Media

Guide to current and historical news sources, Canadian and worldwide.

U.S. Newspapers

Here is a sampling of major U.S. newspaper databases and links to the company websites. Please note websites may charge for accessing content.

For specific information on the New York Times and Factiva databases, click on the specific page on this guide to use this resource under "Specific Databases."

ProQuest One Business (formerly ABI / Business Premium Collection) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business is an intuitive and comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. Designed to help business researchers balance theoretical and practical learning, and acquire research skills that will make them successful in their courses and careers. ProQuest One Business content includes: company, industry, and country reports from providers such as Fitch Solutions and Economist Intelligence Unit, and in-depth analyst reports from J.P. Morgan; scholarly journals and ebook coverage from hundreds of publishers; full text of the three major global business news sources: The Wall Street Journal, the Economist, and the Financial Times; and a robust collection of videos.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.
- Due to license restrictions, access is limited to 6 simultaneous users.
- Interface in English, German, French or Chinese; contents in 22 languages.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
- Coverage is from about 1994 to the present.
- Includes fulltext articles

Current U.S. Newspapers

Here is a sampling of major U.S. current newspaper databases and links to the company websites. Please note websites may charge for accessing content. For other titles in the library's collections, search "United States Newspapers" as a subject.

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Access from UofC IP. If accessing outside a UofC IP a NYTimes.com account must be created. Access via ProQuest platform.
Covers regional, national, and international news events. Features articles on politics, business, science, medicine, sports, arts, technology, fashion, dining, and entertainment.

LA Times
link to website, Paywall may be applied
Wall Street Journal
Link to all the database and physical holdings for the Wall Street Journal, including microfilm.
Wall Street Journal
link to website. Paywall may be applied
Washington Post
Link to all the physical holdings for the Washington Post and all it's prior titles, including microfilm.
Washington Post
link to website, Paywall may be applied

Historical U.S. Newspapers

There are many sources for U.S. historical newspapers. For specific information on the New York Times databases, click on the specific page on this guide to use this resource under "Specific Databases."

Databases with Multiple Newspaper Titles

A selection of library databases that contain multiple newspapers.

Chronicling America, Historic American Newspapers
Historic newspapers from 1836-1922 at the Library of Congress.

CRL library catalog This link opens in a new window
- Access digitized content directly through CRL online catalog request other material through UofC Interlibrary Loans
Membership in Center for Research Libraries provides access to a wide range of uncommon materials, with a focus on news, law and government, finance, the history of science, technology and engineering, and the history and economics of agriculture. The approximately five million newspapers, journals, books, pamphlets, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other resources held by CRL support original research and teaching. CRL holdings include materials from all world regions: Sub-Saharan Africa, Latin America, the Middle East, Central, South and Southeast Asia, North America, and Europe. While these shared collections are largely paper and microform, CRL provides online access to a continually expanding body of digital materials. CRL digital collections of primary source materials support research and teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.

Library of Congress Digital Newspaper Collections

Nineteenth century U.S. newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included. This collection includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.; and it encompasses the entire 19th century.
Paperofrecord.com This link opens in a new window
Paper of Record is an historical archive of full-page newspaper images that you can search for unique coverage of past events in the UK, the USA, Australia, the Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Ecuador, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, and Mexico. The archive is created from newspaper collections on microfilm, preserving the original format of the paper.

US Newspaper directory, 1690-Present
More than 140,000 newspapers published in the United States.List from the Library of Congress.

Selected historical library newspaper databases for the U.S.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post This link opens in a new window
The Washington Post offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

U.S. News Media

Public sector news media

Public Broadcasting (PBS) American public broadcaster and television program distributor. A non profit organization.

National Public Radio (NPR) American privately and publicly funded non-profit membership media organization. Serves as a national syndicator to a network of over 1000 radio stations in the U.S.

Private sector news media: Major television sources

Private Sector news media: Online

Bloomberg

Vice News

Huff Post

U.S. News Magazines

Newsweek
Library holdings (online, print & microformat)
New Yorker
Library holdings (online, print & microformat)
Time
Library holdings (online, print & microformat)
Vanity Fair
Library holdings (online, print & microformat)

National Geographic This link opens in a new window
The complete archive of National geographic magazine, from the first issue to the present (embargo of 45 days). Includes every page and every photograph, all fully searchable through an intuitive interface.

Libraries & Cultural Resources

Research Guides