Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) Research and Statistics (University of Oxford)
- Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) - Our World in Data (University of Oxford)"The purpose of this article on COVID-19 is to aggregate existing research, bring together the relevant data and allow readers to make sense of the published data and early research on the coronavirus outbreak" (by: Max Roser, Hannah Ritchie and Esteban Ortiz-Ospina - University of Oxford)
- Oxford COVID-19 Evidence ServiceThe Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (CEBM) has committed its skills and expertise in evidence synthesis and dissemination to the effort against the current COVID-19 pandemic. This page will be updated regularly
Resources for Clinicians
- The BMJ: Coronavirus (COVID-19)All BMJ coverage of the coronavirus outbreak can be found in this freely available colllection.
- Cambridge University Press: CoronavirusFreely accessible journal articles published in CUP journals.
- Cochrane: Coronavirus (COVID-19): Evidence Relevant to Critical CareThis Cochrane Library Special Collection pulls together the Cochrane Reviews that are most relevant to the management of people hospitalized with severe acute respiratory infections.
- Elsevier: Novel Coronavirus Information CenterElsevier's free health and medical research on novel coronavirus (2019-nCoV).
- JAMA Network: Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)Freely available clinical information on epidemiology, clinical management, public health preparedness, patient information, and more.
- The Lancet: COVID-19 Resource CentreThis resource brings together COVID-19 content from across The Lancet journals as it is published.All content is free to access.
- NEJM: Coronavirus (Covid-19)A collection of articles and other resources on the Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentaries.
- Oxford University Press: CoronavirusFree access to OUP resources on coronavirus and related topics.
- SpringerNature: SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19This website provides free access to Springer Nature content from their journals, additional commentaries, and relevant books.
Exploring Lessons Learned from a Century of Outbreaks by
In November 2018, an ad hoc planning committee at the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine planned two sister workshops held in Washington, DC, to examine the lessons from influenza pandemics and other major outbreaks, understand the extent to which the lessons have been learned, and discuss how they could be applied further to ensure that countries are sufficiently ready for future pandemics. This publication summarizes the presentations and discussions from both workshops.
ISBN: 9780309490320Publication Date: 2019-07-05
Communicable Disease Control and Health Protection Handbook by
The essential guide to controlling and managing today's communicable diseases The fourth edition of Communicable Disease Control and Health Protection Handbook offers public health workers of all kinds an authoritative and up-to-date guide to current protocols surrounding the identification and control of infectious diseases. With its concise, accessible design, the book is a practical tool that can be relied upon to explain topics ranging from the basic principles of communicable disease control to recent changes and innovations in health protection practice. Major syndromes and individual infections are insightfully addressed, while the authors also outline the WHO's international health regulations and the organizational arrangements in place in all EU nations. New to the fourth edition are chapters on Ebola, the Zika virus, and other emerging pandemics. In addition, new writing on healthcare-associated infection, migrant and refugee health, and the importance of preparedness make this an essential and relevant text for all those in the field. This vital resource: Reflects recent developments in the science and administration of health protection practice Covers topics such as major syndromes, control of individual infections, main services and activities, arrangements for all European countries, and much more Includes new chapters on the Zika virus, Schistosomiasis, Coronavirus including MERS + SARS, and Ebola Follows a format designed for ease of use and everyday consultation Created to provide public and environmental health practitioners, physicians, epidemiologists, infection control nurses, microbiologists and trainees with a straightforward - yet informative - resource, Communicable Disease Control and Health Protection Handbook is a practical companion for all those working the field today.
Call Number: ONLINE ACCESS RESTRICTED TO U of C COMMUNITYISBN: 9781119328056Publication Date: 2018-12-03
Managing Epidemics by
This manual provides concise and up-to-date knowledge on 15 infectious diseases that have the potential to become international threats, and tips on how to respond to each of them. The diseases covered are: Ebola virus disease, Lassa fever, Crimean-Congo haemorrhagic fever, yellow fever, Zika, Chikungunya, avian and other zoonotic influenza, seasonal influenza, pandemic influenza, Middle-East respiratory syndrome (MERS), cholera, monkeypox, the plague, leptospirosis and meningococcal meningitis. Although originally developed as guidance for WHO officials, this publication is available to a wide readership including all frontline responders--communities, government officials, non-State actors and public health professionals--who need to respond rapidly and effectively when an outbreak is detected.
ISBN: 9789241565530Publication Date: 2018-04-27
Red Book 2018 by
Please note: The link is to the COVID-19 infections section of this online book.
Extending an 8-decade tradition of excellence, Red Book® provides the most reliable and clinically useful information on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis and treatment of more than 200 childhood infectious diseases. The 31st edition provides evidence-based guidance to practicing clinicians on pediatric infections and vaccinations based on the recommendations of the committee as well as the combined expertise of the CDC, the FDA, and hundreds physician contributors.
ISBN: 9781610021463Publication Date: 2018-06-01Integrating Clinical Research into Epidemic Response by The 2014â€"2015 Ebola epidemic in western Africa was the longest and most deadly Ebola epidemic in history, resulting in 28,616 cases and 11,310 deaths in Guinea, Liberia, and Sierra Leone. The Ebola virus has been known since 1976, when two separate outbreaks were identified in the Democratic Republic of Congo (then Zaire) and South Sudan (then Sudan). However, because all Ebola outbreaks prior to that in West Africa in 2014â€"2015 were relatively isolated and of short duration, little was known about how to best manage patients to improve survival, and there were no approved therapeutics or vaccines. When the World Heath Organization declared the 2014-2015 epidemic a public health emergency of international concern in August 2014, several teams began conducting formal clinical trials in the Ebola affected countries during the outbreak. Integrating Clinical Research into Epidemic Response: The Ebola Experience assesses the value of the clinical trials held during the 2014â€"2015 epidemic and makes recommendations about how the conduct of trials could be improved in the context of a future international emerging or re-emerging infectious disease events.
ISBN: 9780309457798Publication Date: 2017-06-26Global Health Impacts of Vector-Borne Diseases by Pathogens transmitted among humans, animals, or plants by insects and arthropod vectors have been responsible for significant morbidity and mortality throughout recorded history. Such vector-borne diseases â€" including malaria, dengue, yellow fever, and plague â€" together accounted for more human disease and death in the 17th through early 20th centuries than all other causes combined. Over the past three decades, previously controlled vector-borne diseases have resurged or reemerged in new geographic locations, and several newly identified pathogens and vectors have triggered disease outbreaks in plants and animals, including humans. Domestic and international capabilities to detect, identify, and effectively respond to vector-borne diseases are limited. Few vaccines have been developed against vector-borne pathogens. At the same time, drug resistance has developed in vector-borne pathogens while their vectors are increasingly resistant to insecticide controls. Furthermore, the ranks of scientists trained to conduct research in key fields including medical entomology, vector ecology, and tropical medicine have dwindled, threatening prospects for addressing vector-borne diseases now and in the future. In June 2007, as these circumstances became alarmingly apparent, the Forum on Microbial Threats hosted a workshop to explore the dynamic relationships among host, pathogen(s), vector(s), and ecosystems that characterize vector-borne diseases. Revisiting this topic in September 2014, the Forum organized a workshop to examine trends and patterns in the incidence and prevalence of vector-borne diseases in an increasingly interconnected and ecologically disturbed world, as well as recent developments to meet these dynamic threats. Participants examined the emergence and global movement of vector-borne diseases, research priorities for understanding their biology and ecology, and global preparedness for and progress toward their prevention, control, and mitigation. This report summarizes the presentations and discussions from the workshop.
ISBN: 9780309377621Publication Date: 2016-09-21The Neglected Dimension of Global Security by Since the 2014 Ebola outbreak many public- and private-sector leaders have seen a need for improved management of global public health emergencies. The effects of the Ebola epidemic go well beyond the three hardest-hit countries and beyond the health sector. Education, child protection, commerce, transportation, and human rights have all suffered. The consequences and lethality of Ebola have increased interest in coordinated global response to infectious threats, many of which could disrupt global health and commerce far more than the recent outbreak. In order to explore the potential for improving international management and response to outbreaks the National Academy of Medicine agreed to manage an international, independent, evidence-based, authoritative, multistakeholder expert commission. As part of this effort, the Institute of Medicine convened four workshops in summer of 2015. This commission report considers the evidence supplied by these workshops and offers conclusions and actionable recommendations to guide policy makers, international funders, civil society organizations, and the private sector.
ISBN: 9780309390965Publication Date: 2016-05-16Rapid Medical Countermeasure Response to Infectious Diseases by Emerging infectious disease threats that may not have available treatments or vaccines can directly affect the security of the world's health since these diseases also know no boundaries and will easily cross borders. Sustaining public and private investment in the development of medical countermeasures (MCMs) before an emerging infectious disease becomes a public health emergency in the United States has been extremely challenging. Interest and momentum peak during a crisis and wane between events, and there is little interest in disease threats outside the United States until they impact people stateside. On March 26 and 27, 2015, the Institute of Medicine convened a workshop in Washington, DC to discuss how to achieve rapid and nimble MCM capability for new and emerging threats. Public- and private-sector stakeholders examined recent efforts to prepare for and respond to outbreaks of Ebola Virus Disease, pandemic influenza, and coronaviruses from policy, budget, and operational standpoints. Participants discussed the need for rapid access to MCM to ensure national security and considered strategies and business models that could enhance stakeholder interest and investment in sustainable response capabilities. This report summarizes the presentations and discussions from this workshop.
ISBN: 9780309378642Publication Date: 2016-02-12Emerging Viral Diseases by In the past half century, deadly disease outbreaks caused by novel viruses of animal origin - Nipah virus in Malaysia, Hendra virus in Australia, Hantavirus in the United States, Ebola virus in Africa, along with HIV (human immunodeficiency virus), several influenza subtypes, and the SARS (sudden acute respiratory syndrome) and MERS (Middle East respiratory syndrome) coronaviruses - have underscored the urgency of understanding factors influencing viral disease emergence and spread. Emerging Viral Diseases is the summary of a public workshop hosted in March 2014 to examine factors driving the appearance, establishment, and spread of emerging, re-emerging and novel viral diseases; the global health and economic impacts of recently emerging and novel viral diseases in humans; and the scientific and policy approaches to improving domestic and international capacity to detect and respond to global outbreaks of infectious disease. This report is a record of the presentations and discussion of the event.
ISBN: 9780309314008Publication Date: 2015-03-19The Use and Effectiveness of Powered Air Purifying Respirators in Health Care by Protecting 18 million United States health care workers from infectious agents - known and unknown - involves a range of occupational safety and health measures that include identifying and using appropriate protective equipment. The 2009 H1N1 influenza pandemic and the 2014 Ebola virus outbreak in West Africa have called raised questions about how best to ensure appropriate and effective use of different kinds of personal protective equipment such as respirators, not only to promote occupational safety but also to reduce disease transmission. The Use and Effectiveness of Powered Air Purifying Respirators in Health Care is the summary of a workshop convened by the Institute of Medicine Standing Committee on Personal Protective Equipment for Workplace Safety and Health to explore the current state of practices and research related to powered air purifying respirator (PAPRs) and potential updates to performance requirements. Presentations and discussions highlighted current health care practices using PAPRs and outlined the research to date on the use and effectiveness of PAPRs in health care settings with a focus on the performance requirements. The Use and Effectiveness of Powered Air Purifying Respirators in Health Care focuses on efficacy, current training, maintenance, supplies, and possible enhancements and barriers to use in inpatient, clinic, nursing home, and community (home) settings. This report also explores the strengths and weaknesses of using various approaches to health care PAPR standards.
ISBN: 9780309315982Publication Date: 2015-05-07Infectious Disease Movement in a Borderless World by Modern transportation allows people, animals, and plants--and the pathogens they carry--to travel more easily than ever before. The ease and speed of travel, tourism, and international trade connect once-remote areas with one another, eliminating many of the geographic and cultural barriers that once limited the spread of disease. Because of our global interconnectedness through transportation, tourism and trade, infectious diseases emerge more frequently; spread greater distances; pass more easily between humans and animals; and evolve into new and more virulent strains. The IOM's Forum on Microbial Threats hosted the workshop "Globalization, Movement of Pathogens (and Their Hosts) and the Revised International Health Regulations" December 16-17, 2008 in order to explore issues related to infectious disease spread in a "borderless" world. Participants discussed the global emergence, establishment, and surveillance of infectious diseases; the complex relationship between travel, trade, tourism, and the spread of infectious diseases; national and international policies for mitigating disease movement locally and globally; and obstacles and opportunities for detecting and containing these potentially wide-reaching and devastating diseases. This document summarizes the workshop.
ISBN: 9780309151979Publication Date: 2010-03-10Learning from SARS by The emergence of severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) in late 2002 and 2003 challenged the global public health community to confront a novel epidemic that spread rapidly from its origins in southern China until it had reached more than 25 other countries within a matter of months. In addition to the number of patients infected with the SARS virus, the disease had profound economic and political repercussions in many of the affected regions. Recent reports of isolated new SARS cases and a fear that the disease could reemerge and spread have put public health officials on high alert for any indications of possible new outbreaks. This report examines the response to SARS by public health systems in individual countries, the biology of the SARS coronavirus and related coronaviruses in animals, the economic and political fallout of the SARS epidemic, quarantine law and other public health measures that apply to combating infectious diseases, and the role of international organizations and scientific cooperation in halting the spread of SARS. The report provides an illuminating survey of findings from the epidemic, along with an assessment of what might be needed in order to contain any future outbreaks of SARS or other emerging infections.
ISBN: 9780309182157Publication Date: 2004-04-26
- Handbook of COVID-19 Prevention and Treatment
The First Affiliated Hospital, Zhejiang University School of Medicine has treated 104 patients with confirmed COVID-19 in the past 50 days, and their experts wrote real treatment experience when combating the virus night and day, and quickly published this Handbook of COVID-19 Prevention and Treatment, expecting to share their invaluable practical advice and references with medical staff around the world. This handbook compared and analyzed the experience of other experts in China, and provides good reference to key departments such as hospital infection management, nursing, and outpatient clinics. This handbook provides comprehensive guidelines and best practices by China's top experts for coping with COVID-19.
- CDC: Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)Information for health care providers and the general public.
- CMAJ: CoronavirusOn February 3rd 2020, Dr. Kirsten Patrick, deputy editor for CMAJ, interviewed three infectious disease specialists who work within the University Health Network in Toronto.
- COVID-19: Information for PharmacistsPractice resources and information for pharmacists from the Canadian Pharmacists Association (CPhA)
- COVID-19 Updates and InformationThis Information Portal from EBSCOHealth (publishers of DynaMed) is comprised of news feeds and resources from trusted bodies of authority.
- Disaster Lit: Database for Disaster Medicine and Public HealthDisaster Lit is a database of disaster medicine and public health emergency literature produced by the National Library of Medicine.
- European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDPC): Novel coronavirusAll the latest information on the cases of COVID-19.
- Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health: COVID-19Includes routinely updated situation reports, fact sheets, experts in the media.
- LitCovidLitCovid is a curated literature hub from the US National Institutes of Health/National Library of Medicine for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus.
- Public Health Agency of Canada:: Coronavirus disease (COVID-19)Includes Canadian updates, travel advice, being prepared, symptoms and treatment, prevention and risk, and Canada's response.
- UpToDate: Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19)Summary from UpToDate that has been made freely available.
- WHO: Global Research on Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19)WHO is gathering the latest scientific findings and knowledge on coronavirus disease (COVID-19) and compiling it in a database that is updated daily.
Resources for Researchers
- Center for Mathematical Modeling and Infectious Diseases Repository: Covid-19CMMID members are working on the ongoing Covid-19 outbreak caused by the SARS-CoV-2 virus.This page shows an overview of their work.
- CORD-19 (COVID-19 Open Research Dataset)Several leading research groups have partnered together to provide this resource of over 29,000 freely available scholarly articles about COVID-19, SARS-CoV-2, and related coronaviruses.
- NCBI GenBank: Annotated Genome Sequence of the 2019 Novel CoronavirusNovel coronavirus complete genome from the Wuhan outbreak is available in the NCBI database GenBank.
- Outbreak Science: Rapid PREreviewDatabase of article manuscripts regarding outbreaks that are undergoing peer review.