It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This dashboard presents selected data that are relevant for monitoring the impacts of COVID-19 on economic activity in Canada. It includes data on a range of monthly indicators – real GDP, consumer prices, employment, merchandise exports and imports, retail sales, hours worked and manufacturing sales - as well as monthly data on aircraft movements, railway carloadings, and travel between Canada and other countries.
Estimates are presented from January 2019 to the current reference month for each data series. The information will be updated continuously as new data becomes available, and additional series may be added to the dashboard as circumstances warrant.
On top of the previously-included Canada's COVID-19 Economic Response Plan, this version incorporates provincial policy responses to COVID-19 and includes the increase to the federal basic personal amount. It also refines the labour adjustment model to reflect employment patterns for the first half of 2020. Release date: October 14, 2020
The COVID–19 pandemic has had a significant impact on the Canadian economy and postsecondary institutions are no exception, especially in light of uncertainty surrounding international student enrollment. To better assess the potential financial impact of the pandemic on Canadian universities, projection scenarios have been developed which indicate that, overall, these institutions could be facing potential losses ranging from $377 million (-0.8%) to $3.4 billion (-7.5%) during the 2020/2021 academic year depending on the scenario. Release date: October 8, 2020
This article in the Economic Insights series highlights sudden changes in economic conditions as households and businesses were adjusting to social and economic restrictions intended to contain the spread of COVID-19. It is the first in a series of articles that will provide integrated analysis of the economic impacts of COVID-19 as new data and information become available. Release date: May 26, 2020
This article in the Economic Insights series highlights sudden changes in economic conditions as households and businesses adjusted to social and economic restrictions intended to contain the spread of COVID-19. It is the second in a series of articles that provides integrated analysis of the economic impacts of COVID-19 as new data and information become available. Release date: June 24, 2020
This special article in the Economic Insights series provides a concise overview of the lifting of restrictions on social and economic activity that were implemented as Canada and other countries sought to contain the COVID-19 pandemic. Intended to support ongoing analysis of the economic impacts of COVID-19, the article provides contextual information on these restrictions, compiled from publicly available sources. Release date: July 28, 2020
This article summarizes notable changes in output and employment over the first few months of the reopening period, focusing on the unevenness of the economic recovery across industrial sectors and population groups. It also highlights monthly data on business openings and closures in the late spring as COVID-related restrictions continued to ease. Release date: October 28, 2020.
Data products about the epidemiological, social and economic dimensions of the outbreak. Includes datasets, dashboards, statistics, analyses, trends, charts and maps. Also includes a list of locations where people may have been exposed to the virus.
The Economic Recovery Council has been appointed to provide insight and expert advice on how to protect jobs during the economic crisis stemming from the COVID-19 pandemic and the recent collapse in energy prices.
This data set is prepared by Homebase, a free scheduling and time tracking tool used by 100,000+ local businesses and their hourly employees. Homebase's customers in the US primarily consist of restaurant, food & beverage, retail and services and are largely individual owned/operator managed businesses.
From the International Monetary Fund. This policy tracker summarizes the key economic responses governments are taking to limit the human and economic impact of the COVID-19 pandemic as of end-March 2020. The tracker includes 193 economies.
Governments are taking a wide range of measures in response to the COVID-19 outbreak. The Oxford COVID-19 Government Response Tracker (OxCGRT) aims to track and compare government responses to the coronavirus outbreak worldwide rigorously and consistently.
This is a collection of COVID-19 policy trackers and data. It covers cross-country research in the areas of non-pharmaceutical interventions, economic and social policy responses, public attitudes, politics and media coverage.
Administrative and survey data from Statistics Canada and Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada were used to develop several scenarios that project the impact of changes in the levels of international and domestic student enrolment on university finances. Released 8/18/21