Indigenous Student Access Program (ISAP)
Indigenous Studies
These research guides cover a variety of FNMI topics across disciplines.
This guide provides resources on several different topics within Indigenous studies. The information may be used as a general teaching/learning tool, or support students with specific research questions and inquiries. Specific topics include but are not limited to, Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, Girls, & Two-Spirit people, Residential Schools, and Health & Wellness.
Indigenous Studies are, by their very nature, worldwide in scope and interdisciplinary in character. Libraries and Cultural Resources have a wide variety of materials to support research and teaching in this area - books, journal articles, videos, microforms, art, and artifacts. You will find resources that focus not only on Canadian Indigenous resources but resources on the study of Indigenous peoples around the world.
The Indigenous Languages guide provides information and resources to promote Indigenous language, language revitalization, and linguistics. Although there are diverse FNMI groupings in the Calgary area and our UCalgary community, this guide will primarily focus on language within the Southern Alberta, Treaty 7 region - Blackfoot, Cree, Tsuu T'ina, and Stoney/Nakoda Nations. These resources are intended to support student research and promote the preservation of Indigenous spoken, and written languages.
The Métis Studies guide provides resources on Métis history, culture, language, and genealogy, among other topics. The information found here, may be used as a general teaching/learning tool, or support students with specific research questions and inquiries on Métis topics.
Arctic Institute of North America
The AINA collection has always been a donated collection, which is one of the reasons that it is such an interesting, eclectic collection. The older portions of the collection contain material on all aspects of the Canadian North with additional material on northern Europe, Russia, Alaska, Greenland and Antarctica. Newer material focuses primarily — but not exclusively — on the scientific, technological and social aspects of the Canadian North. The collection is not limited to just English and one can find a variety of languages from Danish, Swedish, and Russian to Kalaallisut (West Greenlandic) and Inuvialuktun (Inuit dialects of Canada).
- Provides information on the Arctic Institute of North America's (AINA) collection, which is a unique collection of material about the world above the 60th North parallel as well as Antarctica.
This guide is designed to assist your research for your aboriginal law research assignments or to locate law relating to indigenous peoples. This guide will provide access to a vast array of print and electronic resources available through the library. This will help you get started by suggesting appropriate legal and interdisciplinary resources.
BUSN- Indigenous Economic Development
This guide will help you access resources related to Aboriginal economic development in Canada. Please contact the Business Library if you need more help.
For more information on how to search these databases effectively, see Learn the Library research guide.
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
- Use buttons in the Turtle on home page to find information according to subject
- or follow standard database searching strategies to access materials
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search Complete provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and a total of more than 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- Follow standard database searching strategies to access materials
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Indexes monographs, essays, journal articles, dissertations and government publications covering native American topics and issues, including education, anthropology, psychology, political science, sociology, and legal and medical research.
Coverage is of items published from the sixteenth century to the present.
In this section, you will find various thematic mapping products on Aboriginal people, communities and initiatives undertaken by the Department. Information is being shown using our web-based interactive maps and/or cartographic static maps available in PDF format for viewing and printing purposes.
Check out these TikToks from nêhiyaw-Métis librarian Jessie Loyer, which explain the importance of citational practices
- APA 7th EditionAPA is frequently used in Indigenous studies courses. This brief overview covers the basics of APA citations, developed by UCalgary Writing Support Services.
- APA - Owl PurduePurdue University provides in-depth information on APA citation styles.
Citing Indigenous Knowledge, APA Style (from the NorQuest College Library)
Elders and Knowledge Keepers must be cited in-text and in the reference list.
A) In-text citations should be formatted using the same guidelines as paraphrasing or direct quotes:
- The nature of the place was... (Cardinal, 2004).
B) Citations in the reference list use the following format:
Last name, First initial., Nation/Community. Treaty Territory if applicable. Where they live if applicable. Topic/subject of communication if applicable. personal communication. Month Date, Year.
- For example: Cardinal, D., Goodfish Lake Cree Nation. Treaty 6. Lives in Edmonton. Oral teaching. personal communication. April 4, 2004.
These templates were created by Lorisia MacLoed and are licensed under a CC BY-NC 4.0 license. Further information on citing Indigenous Knowledge can be found on the NorQuest College Library website, or in Lorisia MacLeod. "More Than Personal Communication: Templates for Citing Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers." KULA: Knowledge Creation, Dissemination, and Preservation Studies 5, no. 1 (2021). https://doi.org/10.18357/kula.135
The Media Creation Resources guide provides students with the basic information and resources needed to support new media creation. This includes projects in film, music & sound FX, photography, and podcasting.
Under Academic Podcasting, you will find a brief introduction to podcast creation, different formats and episode layouts, copyright information, interview techniques, different microphones & technology, and a list of Calgary-based podcasts as examples. Additionally, you may find accessible booking spaces under Digital Media Commons, and headphones and microphones available to rent under Music and Sound FX.