Linguistics
This guide provides information and selected resources on linguistics available to you through UCalgary Library and the Internet
Example from the "American English Dialect Recordings"
Collections
- American English Dialect Recordings: The Center for Applied Linguistics CollectionThe Center for Applied Linguistics Collection contains 118 hours of recordings documenting North American English dialects. The recordings include speech samples, linguistic interviews, oral histories, conversations, and excerpts from public speeches.
- Dr. Eung-Do-Cook FondsA collection in the UCalgary Archives of Indigenous language material collected by former UCalgary Linguistics professor Eung-Do (Ed) Cook.
- EthnologueA reference for information about the 7000+ languages in the world today.
- First VoicesA collaborative platform where Indigenous communities manage, curate and share their languages. Many resources are open to the public.
- GlottologGlottolog provides a comprehensive catalogue of the world's languages, language families and dialects. It assigns a unique and stable identifier (the Glottocode) to (in principle) all languoids, i.e. all families, languages, and dialects
- UNESCO Atlas of the World's Languages in DangerVia this interface, you can browse through them, using combinations of search criteria and/or zooming in the online world map
- World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS) OnlineThe World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS) is a large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars) by a team of 55 authors.