Linguistics
This guide provides information and selected resources on linguistics available to you through UCalgary Library and the Internet
Online Resources
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of LinguisticsThe dictionary is an authoritative reference source covering grammar, phonetics, semantics, languages (spoken and written), dialects, and sociolinguistics.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral SciencesIt comprises 4,000 articles, commissioned by 52 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
- The Encyclopedia of Applied LinguisticsCovers 27 key areas of the field, including Language Learning and Teaching, Bilingual and Multilingual Education, Assessment and Testing, Corpus Linguistics, Conversation Analysis, Discourse, Cognitive Second Language Acquisition, Language Policy and Planning, Literacy, and Technology and Language
- Linguistics: A Guide to the Reference LiteratureCoverage spans from 1957, the publication date of Chomsky's seminal work, to the present, with emphasis on English-language resources.
- A Dictionary of Linguistics and PhoneticsIncludes in excess of 5,100 terms, grouped into over 3,000 entries. Coverage reflects recommendations by a team of experts in phonetics, phonology, syntax, semantics, sociolinguistics and psycholinguistics.
On the shelves
The Linguistics Encyclopedia by ISBN: 9780415421041Publication Date: 2010-01-20The Routledge Linguistics Encyclopediais a single-volume encyclopedia covering all major and subsidiary areas of linguistics and applied linguistics. The entries provide in-depth coverage of the topics and sub-topics of the field.
Encyclopedia of Linguistics by ISBN: 1579583911Publication Date: 2004-12-27Containing over 500 alphabetically arranged entries and an expansive glossary by a team of international scholars, the Encyclopedia of Linguistics explores the varied perspectives, figures, and methodologies that make up the field.
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics by ISBN: 0195139771Publication Date: 2003-05-01The International Encyclopedia of Linguistics includes historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, and philosophical linguistics.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language by ISBN: 9780521736503Publication Date: 2010-06-03The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language incorporates the major developments in language study which have taken place since the mid 1990s.
Books from other Libraries
If you can't find the book you are looking for please check the collection of other institutions around Canada on WorldCat.org. UCalgary Library is providing an InterLibrary Loan Service for faculty, students and staff. It is free and usually takes not longer then a couple of days until the pdf-document or book arrives.