BUSN - International Business
Resources on doing business in other countries, international trade, foreign markets and more
Featured Resource
Google Public Data ExplorerGlobal and U.S. datasets covering economic indicators, demographic, labour, health, education statistics and more. Create visualizations of public data, link to them, or embed them in webpages.
Statistics
- Statistics Canada - International TradeFind statistical information on international markets, price trends, foreign exchange policies, imports, exports, foreign investment etc.
- Bureau of Economic AnalysisForeign Direct Investment in the U.S.
Detailed statistical analysis of FDI in the U.S. Includes quarterly as well as annual data, historical data, and provides information by industry and country. - World Development Indicators Online (World Bank)"The most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates." Indicators are grouped by: world view, people, environment, economy, states and markets, and global links.
- The World Bank TCdata360TCdata360 is an initiative of the World Bank Group's Trade & Competitiveness Global Practice, which helps countries achieve the Bank Group's twin goals, ending extreme poverty and boosting shared prosperity, through rapid and broad-based economic growth, centered on strong contributions from the private sector.
- Trading EconomicsThis is an excellent site for global economic data. Includes economic news, country data, indicators, markets and forecasts.
- IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook-- evaluation and ranking of the world’s most competitive economies
-- 2016 edition available in print at the High Density Library (HF1 .W67)
- Passport This link opens in a new window
- NationMaster.comSearchable database of statistics, maps and profiles for every country in the world. Allows for comparisons between two countries
- Nations Online(Open Access)
An online guide to cultures and nations around the world. This site is a portal to extensive information on countries, regions, cities. Includes excellent demographic information. - Federal Reserve Bank of St. LouisEconomic indicators, monthly national and international economic trends, and data tools.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
- IMF eLibrary data This link opens in a new windowThe International Monetary Fund publishes a range of time series data related to IMF lending, exchange rates, and economic and financial indicators for well over 200 countries. Searching this database gives you access to all IMF data sources including: International Financial Statistics.
- OECD Factbook: Economic Environmental and Social StatisticsAccess global statistics, and reports on: population and migration, economic trends, economic globalization, prices, energy, labour, science and technology, environment, education, public finance, quality of life and inequality. U of C students staff and faculty may access the OECD iLibrary for additional economic data, forecasts, and country information. Also see the OECD country statistical profiles.
- Canadian International Merchandise Trade Database (Statistics Canada)Summary charts and tables showing monthly, quarterly, and annual data on both a customs and balance of payments basis. Data are presented by principal trading area, country, commodity category and province.
- United Nations Statistics DivisionThis site is a portal providing links to many sources of statistics from all over the world. Use the left-hand navigation area to access economic statistics, demographic and social statistics, environment and energy statistics, geographic information, and more. See also the UN Statistical Yearbook
- Alberta Export and TradeIncludes Alberta International Trade Review and regular statistical reports on Alberta's export businesses.