BUSN - Real Estate

Provides links to databases, associations, research on the open web, statistics and more for both residential and commercial real estate.

What is a REIT?

REIT A Real Estate Investment Trust (REIT) is a company that owns and, in many cases, operates income-producing real estate such as apartments, shopping centres, offices, hotels and warehouses. Some REITs also engage in financing real estate. The shares of an REIT are freely traded, usually on a major stock exchange. (Source: National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts). REITs are required to comply with applicable securities legislation and stock exchange rules.

The following databases require users to authenticate when off-campus.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Database includes profiles on real estate appraisal, commercial real estate, reits, real estate sales & brokerages, apartment rental, apartment & condominium construction, housing developers, prefabricated home manufacturing and more.
IBISWorld is a wide-ranging collection of U.S. and global industry market research and U.S. risk ratings. It contains business reports in five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings and company research for the U.S., global industry research (including a special collection of China Industry Reports), and selected economic and demographic data. Market analysis components include overviews, industry performance and outlook, competitive and regulatory environment, major competitors, operational conditions and key statistics. U.S. risk reports discuss industry and market risk, including industry life cycle, growth potential and economic sensitivity. Downloadable report elements include SWOT analyses, statistical tables and graphs.

How to: An introduction to Thomson ONE

NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
To access the REITS industry report, click on the "Markets" tab, select "Industry Surveys", click "Headline" to sort alphabetically, and choose "Real Estate Investment Trusts".
This site includes a variety of S&P products. Data includes both government and corporate bonds, stocks, industry surveys, earnings guide, and mutual funds.

Real Property Association (Open Access)

Canada's senior national industry association for owners and managers of investment real estate

National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts (Open Access)

U. S. organization; includes statistics, data & research, investing information, policy issues and more.

Libraries & Cultural Resources

Research Guides

BUSN - Real Estate

What is a REIT?

REIT's